Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
These are easy and delicious cookies! I placed the cookie batter in the fridge for 1 hour prior to baking. Otherwise followed exactly. Did not have a problem with crumbly dough. I rolled into balls and then pushed down my 1/4 tsp bottom to create a small dent in the center to fill with with the jam. I baked for less time than directions called for. Like sugar cookies, you don't really want this to brown on the bottom or they will be hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Amazing cookies and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is worth taking the time to rate. 5+ stars for sure. Wonderfully simple, beautiful, and scrumptious! I followed the recipe exactly and was not disappointed. One of my favorite things about these cookies is they are not too sweet. This recipe is going into my archives to make again and again. Thank you for sharing, Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
These are really good, with some great almond flavor. The cookie dough is really easy to make, the hardest part is getting the raspberry preserves in the middle of the cookie. Also I doubled the icing recipe because I didn't think there was enough on the top of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These were fantastic! I did have some spillage though, but that did not effect the taste, only the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Really good, I've used raspberry, strawberry and boysenberry for the filling! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
What a great easy recipe! We decided to get a bit adventurous and place some pepper jelly in a few...WOW, think I've found a new FAV!! The spicy and sweet was a perfect pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed it up a bit as people were saying that the cookies would spread and I already had a thumbprint cookie recipe that I made with buttercream frosting. I kind of combined the two by just adding more flour so that the cookies did not spread as much. I added more flour until the dough would stop sticking to my hands and would form nicely. I also used a Tbsp to make all of the cookies uniform in size. I used the almond extract, but for those of you who are wanting to use vanilla, you would have to add 4 tsp of vanilla instead of the 1/2 tsp that the recipe calls for with the almond extract. I like my cookies to be a bit softer as well so I only baked it for 10-12 minutes. I made raspberry filling and cherry. If you want to make butter cream frosting instead, the recipe I like to use calls for 2 Tbsp of butter (not margarine), 2 tsp of milk, and 1 c of powdered sugar. Just add more sugar to thicken the recipe or milk to smooth it out. Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Simply amazing! I did make some adjustments right away - 1/2 cup instead of 2/3 cup of sugar, smaller dough balls, used the end of a wooden spoon to make the indents (perfect!) and I chilled the cookies for 20 minutes prior to baking, (zero flattening, looked just like in the photo!). The only thing I would do differently next time is to add more jam to the indents part way through baking as the jam does sink. No big deal though, I just ended up topping up the indents after they were done baking. I think if I hadn't made adjustments I'd be giving the recipe 4 stars. The cookies would be too sweet and definitely would have flattened out and not looked nearly as "professional".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States