Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I usually read a lot of reviews before I make anything, then I take advantage of many of the tricks/tips the other cooks have offered. First of all, this recipe was terrific just as written !! The first tip I used was to use a melon baller (1.5") to get perfect, uniform sized cookies. I then hand rolled them to shape. The next was the chapstick lid to make the little holes, I had an old chapstick, but it was pretty grungy, but I had been to the dentist the day before, and voila (!!) the sample toothpaste cap was the same size, so used that. The third was piping the jam in, I put it in a baggie, and used one of my small pastry tips shoved through a corner (I hate cleaning my pastry bag, LOL.) Easy clean up, and you can squeeze any leftovers back in the jar. The warmth of your hand is enough to loosen even cold preserves. The fourth tip was the chilling of the dough before piping in the raspberry, but after scooping, rolling and indenting. 15 minutes was recommended, I went with 10. The fifth was to lower the oven temp just a hair, to about 230. It took the full 18 minutes. Using all those tips resulted in a superior cookie. My tip? fill the indents with just a tad more raspberry than you think you should. It doesn't run or bubble and they look great ! Thanks for the great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookies are delicious! They melt in your mouth and disappear from the cookie tray as fast as I can make them. The only thing I highly recommend is to chill your dough for at least an hour, but overnight worked best in my case. The cookies turned out pretty flat when I didn't chill the dough. Once the dough is very firm and chilled, roll them up, use the end of a clean pen or pen cap to make your hole, and fill halfway with preserves. I added more preserves once they were out of the oven, waited a half hour before drizzling with icing, and everyone asks me for this recipe now. Just minor tweeks to this fantastic recipe is all that's needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were yummy. I love almond, so I increased the almond extract to 1 tsp. Dough was easy to work with, and the cookies came out perfect. They had a nice light crunch after they cooled, but by the next day, they had a softer crumb due to the moisture of the jam. I had stored them in a loose container, but maybe I should have left them uncovered altogether?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these with the ingredients exactly as they were in the recipe and they were delicious! After I rolled the dough and put the jam on, I put them in the refrigerator on the cookie sheet and they did not flatten out when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good and such an easy recipe. One reviewer mentioned not softening the butter and just cutting it into the sugar as one method to ensure cookies aren't flat. I can not stand cutting in butter so I opted to just go with the original recipe first and I am so glad i did cos they turned out perfect without all that work. I made small balls and used a Chapstick to make the indentions. I didn't fill the indentions completely full, worried that they'd overflow, and now I know to fill them completely full cos the holes do open up more when baking. I put the prepared cookies in the freezer for at least 10 minutes before cooking. I think that is what made them hold up so well. I was really worried about overlooking them and I think I took some out too early. Next time I will wait til they get obviously lightly browned and then take them out - or else they are too fragile. Around Christmas time I plan to add green food coloring to the icing and these cookies will be real festive then. Oh, and I had to add quite a bit more milk to the icing to make it runnier - put it in ziplock Baggie, cut corner, and piped icing on. Next time I might add just a touch more almond extract too since I'm adding more milk. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Love - love- love this recipe. So simple and the shortbread cookie can be used in so many ways, not just for jam. I have made the cookie with no jam, have coated with chocolate...so many options. Thanks for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This recipe was very simple, easy to make, and delicious. Cookies are soft and delicate and not too sweet. We made a double batch and used blackberry, boisenberry, apple, and strawberry jams which were all very good. The cooking time was a bit off. I found I needed to keep them in the oven for about 25 minutes instead of 18 minutes. Oh, and my 9 year old daughter absolutely loved making the thumbprints and filling them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made theses twice and did not like them. They were greasy and had very little flavor. I did use almond extract and not vanilla so that was not the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
quick & easy to prepare.I made 6 doz. of these for Christmas cookies.In each 1/3 batch I used either pineapple,strawberry or blueberry preserves.They were almost as pretty as stained glass window cookies.this recipe is definitely a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Really tasty! Made recipe exactly as stated. Didn't take the time to refrigerate dough before baking. Didn't have any problem with spreading. I made small cookies - probably 1 1/2" in diameter before baking. I didn't have a chapstick lid with me, so used a wooden spoon handle to make the "thumbprint." Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States