Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good and such an easy recipe. One reviewer mentioned not softening the butter and just cutting it into the sugar as one method to ensure cookies aren't flat. I can not stand cutting in butter so I opted to just go with the original recipe first and I am so glad i did cos they turned out perfect without all that work. I made small balls and used a Chapstick to make the indentions. I didn't fill the indentions completely full, worried that they'd overflow, and now I know to fill them completely full cos the holes do open up more when baking. I put the prepared cookies in the freezer for at least 10 minutes before cooking. I think that is what made them hold up so well. I was really worried about overlooking them and I think I took some out too early. Next time I will wait til they get obviously lightly browned and then take them out - or else they are too fragile. Around Christmas time I plan to add green food coloring to the icing and these cookies will be real festive then. Oh, and I had to add quite a bit more milk to the icing to make it runnier - put it in ziplock Baggie, cut corner, and piped icing on. Next time I might add just a touch more almond extract too since I'm adding more milk. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Love - love- love this recipe. So simple and the shortbread cookie can be used in so many ways, not just for jam. I have made the cookie with no jam, have coated with chocolate...so many options. Thanks for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This recipe was very simple, easy to make, and delicious. Cookies are soft and delicate and not too sweet. We made a double batch and used blackberry, boisenberry, apple, and strawberry jams which were all very good. The cooking time was a bit off. I found I needed to keep them in the oven for about 25 minutes instead of 18 minutes. Oh, and my 9 year old daughter absolutely loved making the thumbprints and filling them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made theses twice and did not like them. They were greasy and had very little flavor. I did use almond extract and not vanilla so that was not the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
quick & easy to prepare.I made 6 doz. of these for Christmas cookies.In each 1/3 batch I used either pineapple,strawberry or blueberry preserves.They were almost as pretty as stained glass window cookies.this recipe is definitely a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Really tasty! Made recipe exactly as stated. Didn't take the time to refrigerate dough before baking. Didn't have any problem with spreading. I made small cookies - probably 1 1/2" in diameter before baking. I didn't have a chapstick lid with me, so used a wooden spoon handle to make the "thumbprint." Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Easy and taste fantastic! I used my pinky finger to make the hole in the center which worked perfectly. I made exactly as directed but added double the milk in the glaze and poured the glaze into a small plastic baggie and made a TINY hole in the bottem corner to make a great drizzle size. Defintely wait until the cookies cool completely before glazing to keep it looking pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Selene
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I live in a hot & humid country. Nearly all cookie recipes I have come across requires me to add more flour. If I didn't, I'd only get a thick batter and a dough would never form, even after refrigeration. Same goes for this recipe, it needed an additional 1 cup of flour & refrigeration to get it to a workable consistency. Other than that, I would have used vanilla extract instead. To get the almond flavour, I rolled the dough in toasted almond nibs before making the indentations. I would make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I love love love this recipe i always come back to this one and make it, so fast, so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These cookies are wonderful!! I used all natural strawberry jam instead of raspberry and I used pure lemon extract instead of almond and they were a BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States