Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe, but refridgerated the dough for at least an hour. Using the chap-stick tube to make the indents and I put the jam in a bag, cut the corner and squeezed the jam in the indent. I also use parchment paper. I've used melted choc for drizzling too. These always turnout great, I even used apricot jam for a pretty color combo. Geat recipe, thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are wonderful! As suggested by other reviews, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour, did not soften the butter, and baked at 340 degrees. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Super yum. My husband loves these. I omitted 1/3 sugar and the glaze to make them less sweet. It was a definite hit with the family than my first batch. My first batch was exact according to recipe. Still very good just a touch too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These cookies are delicious. I love the crumbly buttery texture. I agree with the other reviewers. Chill the dough before baking. I put it in the fridge for 15 minutes after I made it. Also, use a chapstick tube to make the indentations. It makes a little well that keeps the jam contained. Also, putting the jam in a plastic bag and squeezing it into the indentation is a very helpful tip. One comment I have is that I don't think the milk amount for the glaze is enough. I think it should be one tablespoon of milk. When I use the ratios as written the glaze was just crumbly. I had to add more milk to make it smooth. Overall, a delish recipe. Might be my new go-to recipe for X-mas cookie exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
We love this recipe! It is an annual tradition in my home to make these around the holidays. I do switch up the jam this year it's TOE (tangerine, orange and elederberry) jam and Blueberry jam from a local mennonite shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
VERY good cookies! They are a nice, crunchy shortbread, not soft, which some people (like my husband) do not appreciate. I love the hint of almond flavor in the dough. I rolled some of the balls in sugar before filling them with jam and that was nice, especially since I chose to leave off the glaze. My tips are to fill the thumb print with more jelly than you think you will need, and bake until the cookies are light golden so they're firm enough to hold up to the wet jam. Made mine 12 hours ago and they're still just as crisp as they were with no signs of sogginess from the jam, but that may change. Regardless, these are definitely a repeat for me and maybe next time I will try the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Perfection!! (I did add 1/4 tsp salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Leyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmar, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are delicious! But don't press your thumb in too deep otherwise the bottoms will almost fall out when they bake and spread out. And definitely wait until you see golden brown. I took mine out just too early so that also made the bottoms not set up fully. But the next batch I got just right at 18 minutes and they were absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Bell
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Anytime I bring these anywhere, multiple people ask for the recipe. That about sums it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilli Kroes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. I did put the batter in the fridge to chill before baking them. They turned out great. This was such a easy recipe and oh so delicious. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States