Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
VERY good cookies! They are a nice, crunchy shortbread, not soft, which some people (like my husband) do not appreciate. I love the hint of almond flavor in the dough. I rolled some of the balls in sugar before filling them with jam and that was nice, especially since I chose to leave off the glaze. My tips are to fill the thumb print with more jelly than you think you will need, and bake until the cookies are light golden so they're firm enough to hold up to the wet jam. Made mine 12 hours ago and they're still just as crisp as they were with no signs of sogginess from the jam, but that may change. Regardless, these are definitely a repeat for me and maybe next time I will try the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Perfection!! (I did add 1/4 tsp salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmar, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are delicious! But don't press your thumb in too deep otherwise the bottoms will almost fall out when they bake and spread out. And definitely wait until you see golden brown. I took mine out just too early so that also made the bottoms not set up fully. But the next batch I got just right at 18 minutes and they were absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Bell
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Anytime I bring these anywhere, multiple people ask for the recipe. That about sums it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilli Kroes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. I did put the batter in the fridge to chill before baking them. They turned out great. This was such a easy recipe and oh so delicious. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Everyone loved these!!! TIPS... cut back oven to 325 degrees, used parchment paper, cut back butter to 3/4 cup, used hands for final mixing about 30 seconds, applied sugar to back of 1/4 tsp to press (keeps them from sticking), use the same 1/4 tsp to fill. My new favorite cookie. Only lightly golden where cookie meets the parchment. Omitted drizzle...sweet enough without. Still plenty of buttery taste with cut back and not too rich. PERFECT!!! Friends and family said they couln't stop eating them. Cooking time varies between 13 and 16 depnding on size. Used blackberry and strawberry from Cracker Barrel and my mom's homemade rasberry preserves. Homemade was best...thanks mom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I usually read a lot of reviews before I make anything, then I take advantage of many of the tricks/tips the other cooks have offered. First of all, this recipe was terrific just as written !! The first tip I used was to use a melon baller (1.5") to get perfect, uniform sized cookies. I then hand rolled them to shape. The next was the chapstick lid to make the little holes, I had an old chapstick, but it was pretty grungy, but I had been to the dentist the day before, and voila (!!) the sample toothpaste cap was the same size, so used that. The third was piping the jam in, I put it in a baggie, and used one of my small pastry tips shoved through a corner (I hate cleaning my pastry bag, LOL.) Easy clean up, and you can squeeze any leftovers back in the jar. The warmth of your hand is enough to loosen even cold preserves. The fourth tip was the chilling of the dough before piping in the raspberry, but after scooping, rolling and indenting. 15 minutes was recommended, I went with 10. The fifth was to lower the oven temp just a hair, to about 230. It took the full 18 minutes. Using all those tips resulted in a superior cookie. My tip? fill the indents with just a tad more raspberry than you think you should. It doesn't run or bubble and they look great ! Thanks for the great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookies are delicious! They melt in your mouth and disappear from the cookie tray as fast as I can make them. The only thing I highly recommend is to chill your dough for at least an hour, but overnight worked best in my case. The cookies turned out pretty flat when I didn't chill the dough. Once the dough is very firm and chilled, roll them up, use the end of a clean pen or pen cap to make your hole, and fill halfway with preserves. I added more preserves once they were out of the oven, waited a half hour before drizzling with icing, and everyone asks me for this recipe now. Just minor tweeks to this fantastic recipe is all that's needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were yummy. I love almond, so I increased the almond extract to 1 tsp. Dough was easy to work with, and the cookies came out perfect. They had a nice light crunch after they cooled, but by the next day, they had a softer crumb due to the moisture of the jam. I had stored them in a loose container, but maybe I should have left them uncovered altogether?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these with the ingredients exactly as they were in the recipe and they were delicious! After I rolled the dough and put the jam on, I put them in the refrigerator on the cookie sheet and they did not flatten out when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States