Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Oh my goodness, my entire family wanted more and I had no more left. This was a big hit and delicious too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great recipe. I've made it couple times and they are amazing everytime. I put them in the fridge before baking like others. And added more milk to the drizzle and put it in a ziploc bag and cut the corner. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is the 1st time i review a recipe but, after trying this cookie it didn't feel right not to say something. I have always heard the term "melt in your mouth" but i haven't really understood it until i made this recipe, they were heavenly, i followed the reviewers suggestion and put it in the freezer before baking so it'll hold its shape, will definitly make again, thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Simple and tasty, what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly; after adding the second cup of flour the dough turned into the shape of peas. Trying to make balls I had to dip my fingers in water because the balls were falling apart. Trying to make the hole, the cracked and fell apart. Also after 18 minutes baking, not anywhere near done. I kept checking the recipe to see if I forgot something. Also, the icing. You cannot drizzle the icing with 1/2 cup powdered sugar and only 1 teaspoon of milk. I will never make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
They tasted good but stuck to the pan and got really flat. I'll try making them again and hopefully they come out better next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Taste great! I used strawberry preserves because I didn't have raspberry. So good I didn't need the drizzle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've been a huge fan of sweets that use almond extract, but (at least in the areas I grew up) they weren't widely available. These cookies taste fantastic, have a very light weight and texture (I sift my flour), and satisfy both my almond and raspberry cravings. I did have to make one alteration - I need to use 1 TABLEspoon of milk for the drizzle portion, or I'd wind up with very sweet cement that didn't make it on to my cookies until I added more milk and popped it in the microwave to "melt" the hardened sweetness. You DO have to use Almond Extract, and I highly recommend drizzling the frosting stuff on top (again, using the extract) as it helps with the flavor as well as making them look lovely. They spread a good bit in the oven, but I had no problems with jam spreading and escaping the cookie surfaces - I just made sure the dips for them were deep enough, and didn't let it rise higher than the rim. One of my spatulas has a rounded end on the handle, I use that to form the dips. The first couple of times, I got odd numbers of cookies - I've switched to splitting the finished dough into quarters and pinching off 8 cookies per quarter (adding and removing to make their sizes closer to equal) before rolling them into balls. It goes faster than pulling out a small chunk at a time and then looking at a lot of different sized dough spheres on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
First thing, these are GREAT! Now for the rest. Read a lot of reviews and here's what I did to get these perfect. Used ingredients as listed no more no less. I DID NOT use the icing and I'm glad I didn't as these have a taste you do not want to cover up. After mixing up the dough I did stick the dough in the refridge for about 10 minutes. Dough will be crumbly but the heat of your hands rolling out the balls will make everything OK. Fixed two cookie sheets (got 24 cookies total out of this)and after putting the raspberry filling on I put the trays back in the refridge for another 10 minutes. Because of this they took 19 minutes to cook. It's worth noting that the refridge time played a critical roll in the cookies retaining their shape. I used the end of a small juicer for the depression in the cookies and as a couple of folks suggested put the jam in a sandwich baggie, cut a very small corner off the bag and squeezed the filling out into the cookie depression. Works really well. Don't wait for Christmas to fix these...get in there now and fire up the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnolia4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe and made it with a twist. Instead of raspberry jam, i put Pineapple jam, and instead of just plain milk, I added lemon juice. and let me tell you, my family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States