Raspberry Walnut Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Absolutely delicious! At first I thought it was going to be a disaster because both cake layers fell apart as I was removing them from the pans. I had to kind of patch them up and skip the step of slicing them in half and putting icing between them. In spite of that, it turned out great, and every one wanted seconds! My mother is picky when it comes to cakes, but she raved about this one! Works great as a birthday cake because you can pipe a message on top in place of the lattice design. Next time I will probably use parchment paper to make the cake easier to remove from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Excellent cake to impress others. Anybody could make this cake with outstanding results - however I needed at least another hour of time to have the cake turn out like the photo. The effort is definitely worth the results. Cake doesn't rise as high and the frosting isn't as impressive in hot, humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This torte/cake was a lot of work for me, which is saying something since I made an Inside out German Choc. Cake that took four hours! While this didn't take nearly as long, the process of splitting the layers and trying to make the thing look presentable was a challenge. I found the cake rather crumbly (but not dry), therefore not so easy to separate. They also sunk in the middle making the process of getting "even" layers very difficult. Not sure if this is due to the high altitude where I live as I sometimes have issues with this when baking. My suggestion from what I learned, split the batter into four parts instead of two and adjust the cooking time to less to avoid having to cut the layers up. Also to get them out of the pan easily I highly recommend lining the bottoms of the pan with parchment paper, I did this and they came out without a problem. I made the recipe exactly how it was written except I used almonds instead of walnuts and added a little bit of almond extract instead of vanilla to the frosting. It tasted good but I wouldn't say it was "to die for" since I found the texture a little odd and not as elegant tasting (if that makes sense) as I would have liked. Perhaps this could be cured by grinding the nuts finer. I also prefer fresh fruit instead of preserves since I find preserves too sweet. I'm not sure I want to go through the trouble of making this again, but other people really enjoyed it so I might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Photo by emilyanne
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I made this for a party and it was a huge sucess. Used crushed almonds instead - very good. Also had trouble getting it out of the pan intact even though well greased. Luckily, frosting is forgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This cake turned out great!! I used powdered sugar instead of white in the icing, I know it changes the texture, but I don't like tasting the grains in frosting. I did everything else as written. everyone loved it! It definately was a lot of work, but I did allow my 3 year old son to help which doubles the work, at least. Anyways, well worth the effort, especially when you have a husband who loves it as much as mine does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very good cake with a beautiful presentation. I like that the walnuts are ground, rather than just chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This cake is truly fantastic. I even make the raspberry jam from scratch because most store-bought jams are too sweet and not "fruity" enough for me. Women: this cake will yield marriage proposals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Awesome cake! We made it with almonds and fresh raspberries, and it was outstanding. I love using cream instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was a surprisingly exquisite cake that was surprisingly easy to make. Quite a sophisticated texture and flavor. This will become a standard cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pahner
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Tasted SO good. Even my cake hating boyfriend loved this. However I found the cake almost impossible to cut into 4 layers without breaking. Good thing the iceing was forgiving! Looked great topped with fresh raspberrys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States