Raspberry Walnut Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Just sweet enough without being too sweet (I followed the recipe exactly, though I only spread a thin layer of the preserves on the top, or it would have been too sweet for me). Thanks to the folks who gave the tip about using parchment paper in the pans - I followed their advice and the cakes came out easily. Here's a tip for slicing the layers easily and cleanly, since a lot of people had problems with that: use thread instead of a knife. It has to be strong thread - nylon, not cotton. You cut a piece of thread, wrap an end around each index finger, like dental floss (come to think of it, that would probably work too) and slice each layer horizontally with it. Works like a charm (works great for slicing dough too). Many thanks for the recipe, Tom - this cake not only tastes wonderful, it looks wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
very very dry but the flavour is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
everyone liked it. No changes in the recipe. followed exactly. Walnuts were toasted before grinding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Came out great. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I substituted strawberry jam for raspberry (because that's what I had on hand) and used ground almonds instead of walnuts. Cake was firm but surprisingly moist and very flavorful. I think I actually liked the cake even better than the frosting (which isn't normally the case for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Heaven on a plate! I made this for my daughter's birthday and I was so very happy with how it turned out. Everyone loved it, from my 4 year old grandson to my 73 year old mother. The only thing I did differently was to make an extra half batch so that I could have 3 layers of significance. I did this after seeing how much the full batch made and decided against cutting them in half and just add another layer instead. This will be a cake that I will make many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was a surprisingly exquisite cake that was surprisingly easy to make. Quite a sophisticated texture and flavor. This will become a standard cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Used the frosting from this recipe for a strawberry cake. This frosting is TOO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
i left out the walnuts and turned it into a bunch of mini cupcake sized tortes and it was a huge hit with everybody
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this torte to take to a German restaurant when we had company from Germany. It was the perfect dessert for the occasion. I did 3- 8" by making 1 1/2 batches and doing 6 layers. My friend from Germany even requested the recipe. Thank you for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This torte/cake was a lot of work for me, which is saying something since I made an Inside out German Choc. Cake that took four hours! While this didn't take nearly as long, the process of splitting the layers and trying to make the thing look presentable was a challenge. I found the cake rather crumbly (but not dry), therefore not so easy to separate. They also sunk in the middle making the process of getting "even" layers very difficult. Not sure if this is due to the high altitude where I live as I sometimes have issues with this when baking. My suggestion from what I learned, split the batter into four parts instead of two and adjust the cooking time to less to avoid having to cut the layers up. Also to get them out of the pan easily I highly recommend lining the bottoms of the pan with parchment paper, I did this and they came out without a problem. I made the recipe exactly how it was written except I used almonds instead of walnuts and added a little bit of almond extract instead of vanilla to the frosting. It tasted good but I wouldn't say it was "to die for" since I found the texture a little odd and not as elegant tasting (if that makes sense) as I would have liked. Perhaps this could be cured by grinding the nuts finer. I also prefer fresh fruit instead of preserves since I find preserves too sweet. I'm not sure I want to go through the trouble of making this again, but other people really enjoyed it so I might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States