Raspberry Venison Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This got rave reviews at our table! We paired it with Nana's Turnips and Potatoes and greatly enjoyed our meal. Some venison veterans were very impressed with they tasty game meat and a first time venison eater was VERY impressed and claimed he would now look at elk and think "You are yummy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was VERY good!! I was sceptical and without high hopes but I was extremely impressed with the depth of flavor! My picky eater kiddos went back for 3rds. The sauce and onions tasted amazing with the rice I served it on, it really reminded me of a chinese dish of some sort. I am very picky about any gamey taste and you really, truely could not tell this was venison and I wasn't even using the backstrap. We will make this many more times. I don't like store bought dressings so I used my fav. balsamic vinaigrette: In a jar w/ lid mix 1/2 c. balsamic vinegar (I like cosco brand) 2 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp. dijon mustard. shake vigorously..add 1/2 c. E. V. Olive oil..shake like crazy. then I added 1/2 c. raspberry jelly for this recipe. I did not "boil" my meat like the recipe implies but instead seared it in an extremely hot pan which carmelized it nicely. I also added 1 tbsp. chicken bullion to the onion water. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Had a dinner party of 12 people, 8 of which where not venison fans, and well there where no leftovers. Everyone wanted the recipe so they all went home with this website..if I could I would like to give this one a 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powassan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Really enjoy this dish. Great flavor. I usually marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very different recipe. This is a sweeter dish. Its not something that I will cook all the time, but I will definitely keep it around. It takes the gamey taste away because it is such a strong flavor. The caramelized onions are awesome! this is not a flavor for everyone but I still give it five stars because it is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erose1110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
SO AMAZING! my boyfriend absolutely loves this as do i! i make it in a pot instead of a skillet so it leaves a bit of juice to put over wild rice. melt it your mouth taste! he asks me to make it at least once a week! i give it a 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I thought this was very good! I added red/yellow peppers, broccoli, water chestnuts, and mushrooms to the mixture right when I added the meat. I cooked it for approx 12-13 minutes. The meat ended up a little tough- maybe overcooked but next time I will marinate it overnight. Served like stir-fry over fried rice- delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Delicious! I marinaded it overnight because my dinner plans changed at the last minute. I added some broccoli & carrots, and served over rice to make it more like a stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Fimreite

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My kids LOVED this recipe, even my 2yo. I cooked it a little longer than the recipe called for to reduce the marinade and juices to a nice thick sauce. I imagine the taste can vary depending on the raspberry vinegarette that you use. I gave it 4 instead of 5 because it wasn't my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this tonight and it was the first time I have cooked venison. I chose this recipe because it did not require a long marinating time. The meat was very tender. I omitted the extra sugar in the onions but the dish was still sweeter than I prefer. Everyone enjoyed it but I probably would opt fora more traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States