Raspberry Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I had to tweak it to make it a 5 star.:-) I make them with premium dark chocolate and leave out the coffee granules. Also, I use all-fruit preserves instead of regular raspberry jam, because it has a cleaner, stronger flavor. The result? Perfect truffles that are making me famous. I roll them in toasted almonds, but also roll some in a mixture of cocoa powder and powdered sugar for those who don't care for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe! Not only did they taste great but were easy to make. I added an extra 2 T of jam for more flavor then chilled for 3 hours. They rolled very easily between my hands. I plan to make this at Christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
It gets really soft and is really hard to work with, but if you can pull it off, it is so worth it and created the best tasting truffles out of lots of different truffle recipes I tried on this site. I froze it overnight, and managed to form them into balls using cocoa powder. I dipped them in melted chocolate and let them harden, and it was so delicious, especially because the inside was sooo soft and yummy! Also one other thing I'd suggest is that you add and completely melt the instant coffee granules before adding raspberry preserves and chocolate, because otherwise it could leave small granules in the chocolate and you probably don't want that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really like this recipe. It is SO easy to make, and the truffles are smooth, melt-in-your-mouth, delicious. I read the other review and thought I should cook the milk and sugar a little longer so it would roll into balls. Not necessary!! Actually, it was too stiff. So the next batch I made was with semi-sweet morsels, cooked for 3 minutes, and it was perfect. The semi-sweet morsels make the truffles very rich. I coated them with white choclate and red drizzle...they looked yummy!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
These tasted really great. I will make them again for sure, with a few adjustments. That in mind, my only complaints were it not setting very well. This isn't so much the recipes fault, since it happens a lot with truffles, but after several hours of chilling it could be rolled into balls, but the heat from my hands melted the outside instantly, making rolling them in powdered sugar or dipping them in chocolate near impossible. Thats not to say don't make this recipe, but keep it in mind, its not one of those few perfect recipes. I also suggest adding a little more raspberry perserves. As it is the fruit flavor gets a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I thought these were very good, the coffee gave it a richer taste to it. I made the balls about a 1/2 the size as suggested because after dipping they got quite a bit larger. I them dipped in milk chocolate and drizzled them with white and red chocolate. These were very easy to roll after 1 1/2 hours in the freezer. No troubles here and I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
So incredibly easy. I followed the recipe exactly, but did use a higher-end raspberry spread and Ghiradelli chocolate. Mine ended up chilling for two hours, and it was actually quite stiff to begin with, but worked pretty easily into the shapes I wanted. Ran out of almonds, so rolled them in one of three coatings: chopped pecans, coconut or cocoa. Super yum - thanks for making this part of my hubby's Valentine's Day gift so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Quite delicious and SO easy! Cured my raspberry chocolate cravings. I'm going to try it with cranberry sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Loved this recipe! I froze the mixture for about 3 hours and had no problems rolling into balls. I then placed them back in the freezer for about an hour then dipped the truffles in melted Dove chocolate. Then chilled!! Oh so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenLotus77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a really good recipe (after I modified it some). I made them with white chocolate instead of milk chocolate and heavy cream instead of evaporated milk. It was still really soft after 1.5 hours in freezer so I had to keep adding more white chocoloate chips to the mixture to make it hard enough to roll, but eventually I got it to work. Then I dipped them in white chocolate and sprinkled with red/green sugar (for Christmas). When served at room temp. they melt in your mouth and are very creamy. Everyone has raved about them. Now that I've tweaked it and can make it work, I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States