Raspberry Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This was my first time making this dish, but I followed the advice of other posts and made some changes. I lightly seasoned both sides of the fillets with Lawry's salt. Instead of raspberry vinegar, I used a raspberry vinaigrette, which isn't so "vinegary," for lack of a better word, but still flavorful. I also used 2 Tblsp Dijon mustard instead of yellow, and cut the olive oil in half. I didn't have any dill, so I used rosemary. I also used just a bit less than 1/4 C of honey b/c the vinaigrette is already sweetened. The result was fantasic!!!! Even my very picky kids liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I am personal chef and wanted to try this once before I made it for my clientele. Something is not quite there with the combination of ingredients, it may be that it is too sweet for this type of fish. My husband and I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
First impression it needs salt. I guess I would salt the fish on both side before putting in the pan. Also I only had extra virgin olive oil in the house (it overpowered the flavors). I would also cut the amount of oil n half. You don't need all of the oil. It is a little on the sweet side, but not bad, a little more mustard would help. Changing to Dijon or brown mustard would add the tang I am looking for. It is so easy I will try this recipe again tasting the sauce as I go along to get the right mix. Always try the original once before making any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
This was the first time my wife and I had ever cooked fish. By the end of the meal (which took almost no time to prepare), we had already added it to our list of fast, healthy favorites. I don't know how kids will like it as we have none, but the flavor of the fish was incredible. I recommend this for anyone who would like to make a light, fast, and healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
One of the previous reviewers of this recipe suggested subbing in two tsp of dijon mustard for the one tsp of yellow mustard-this worked out wonderfully! Thanks for the great suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
My boyfriend and I are fish lovers already, and we loved this. I made a couple of substitutions, because of what I happened to have around: I used a spicy honey mustard instead of the yellow mustard, and I didn't have any dill, so I used rosemary instead. I made a salad dressing to go with it: more raspberry vinegar, a little lime juice, and some plain yogurt. We had that over spinach salad, with fresh raspberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I made this as one of the "freezer meals" I make for my parents. I used a soy-ginger vinegrette instead of the raspberry vinegar mixture. I put everything together in an aluminium foil pan, covered with foil and froze it unbaked. Gave instructions to thaw overnight in regrigerator, then bake (covered) as directed. My parents RAVED about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very tasty! The fish is very moist. I use dijon mustard and add less honey because it is a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I cook Tilapia quite often. This recipe was to sweet and just had an overall bad flavor, I will stay with my lemon pepper and dill weed, really brings out the flavor instead of covering it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent! I use pomegranate infused balsamic vinnaigrette, and serve over fresh greens with garlic bread or croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States