Raspberry Summer Pudding (English Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I love this pudding!!! So easy to prepare but so fresh and original. I lived in England for a long time and I know they use black currants, red currants and raspberries to make it. I used raspberries, black berries and strawberries instead. It was delicious and the shape of the pudding came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I've had summer pudding in Britain and loved it, but this was not very popular at my house. It was way too sweet and I had to make extra raspberry sauce to have enough. Luckily I was using raspberries from my garden, so I had access to more. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Shayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My granddaughters and I are trying different recipes with black raspberries since mine are producing while they are visiting. This recipe was so easy! The 12 year old made it by herself and it was delicious! They called it a bowl full of awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I used buttercrust homestyle white bread from the bakery (the best white bread ever IMO) and refrigerated the pudding overnight weighted down with two cans of veggies. I trimmed the crust off of the bread for appearance sake, so I added an extra slice of bread to compensate for that. There was a lot of raspberry juice puddling on the top, and the pudding did not release from the bowl when inverted. I'm not sure how this pudding should be presented, but I was hopeful that I'd be able to slice it. However, the only option I had was to spoon it into a dessert dish. I think the excessive juice affected the appearance of the dessert, and I will reduce the sugar to 1 cup next time to see if that helps. Perhaps just draining off a little of the juice before pouring it into the bread shell might help as well. Unusual recipe with an incredibly intense and sweet fresh raspberry flavor. In spite of not being able to unmold it, it was fabulous (and easy, too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was very easy to make and set perfectly. The flavor was all right, but it did essentially taste of berries, sugar, and bread. Serving with vanilla ice cream or some sort of cream is a must, to cut the sugary sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a little too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I also used whole wheat bread (it was fresh ground, whole wheat bread that was a bit crusty). WOW,it was delicious! I could not stop eating it, and even my kids gobbled it up. Easy, delicious, and mostly healthy, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onbutnotof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I didn't have fresh raspberries, so I used 1 1/2 cups of strawberries and 2 banana's with whole wheat bread instead of white then added a little cinnamon. Everyone LOVED this. Reminds me of bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I was a little hesitant about the slices of bread but this was very tasty and really easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is very odd looking when set and turned onto plate, yet sooooo wonderful, a real taste treat. I realized too late that the reason for a weight on top was to encourage the top slice of bread to soak up juice, and my weight (a small plate) was not heavy enough. Oh well, juast a speed bump on the road to a heavenly dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States