Raspberry Star Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These cookies are so good! I make them every year for Christmas. I did change the recipe slightly for my own tastes. I do not do a drizzle frosting. Instead, as soon as the cookies come out of the oven, I dust them with powdered sugar. But, because raspberry and almond flavors do mesh well together, I do add a tsp. of almond extract to the cookie batter. These are also cute using a snowflake shaped cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnetonka Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made these by cutting the dough into circles using a clean cap from a can of spray starch - frugal and ingenious, huh? LOL Then I cut a small star shape using a very small star-shaped metal cookie cutter into the middles of the top circles. This made assembling the cookies easier while still making them pretty. I also skipped the icing and added 1 tsp of almond extract to the dough. I dusted the finished cookies with powdered sugar as did another reader, making them look rather like old-fashioned Lindzer (sp?) cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I made similar cookies a few years ago but, I like this recipe better where you make the sandwiches before you bake them. It gives the jam a slightly chewy consistency like cookies I get at the italian bakery. I like to make a couple of variations. I usually put a little of the almond extract in the cookies instead of in a glaze. Also, for a more decadent cookie I also like to melt some semi-sweet chocolate and drizzle that on the cookies after they have cooled. The chocolate-raspberry flavor combination is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These cookies are delicious and beautiful! I gave it 4 stars because the cookies are pretty time-consuming, and the recipe doesn't make nearly as many cookies as it claims, I've found. The cookies and icing are both fantastic. I make these for Christmas every year and use a variety of preserves (my dad loves apricot!). I make stars, snowflakes, bells, gingerbread men, and whatever other shapes I have lying around. I get lots of compliments on these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
All around it was good, my only complaint was with the dough. I tried chilling it and that didn't work well. I tried just rolling it out and it took a great deal of flour to keep it from sticking. You can taste all of that flour in the cookie, but they are still good. Chilling it made it too tough. Hmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Made these last Christmas and they were everyone's favorite out of all the cookies that were there! A lot of work, but the combination of raspberry and almond flavor is SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Wonderful! I made the suggested change and added 1 tsp. of almond extract to the dough. I also used the dough from the small cut-out and topped it with a dollop of raspberry jam and a slivered almond, baked and then sifted confectioners sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsllb
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
very tasty cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These turned out great. Don't worry about getting the jelly exactly even because it bubbles and melts into a nice even puddle. My only adjustment was the bake time. My broken oven only bakes at 350 degrees and it took over 20 minutes. I took them out when they started to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've been on AR for years & I think this is the 1st review I've written! I bought raspberry preserves and then searched for a recipe to use it in when I came across this. I've been looking for a good cut-out recipe for years and I think I've finally found it! I loved that I didn't have to refrigerate the dough and wait hours, I could just mix it and roll it right away! Based on the other reviews I added the almond extract and it was perfect. I made the first batch into stars with the raspberry preserves but I am also going to make another batch and just decorate as a plain cut-out cookie. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States