Raspberry Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luv2bakecookies
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
They are wonderful. The only different thing I did was double the recipe as well as add a tsp. of salt. I find that salt really balances the flavor of all baked goods. Ok, so I did a couple of other things too. I added a little vanilla and only because I didn't have enough rasberry jam, I divided up the pan with rasberry, then apricot and finally a blueberry jam. The out come was 3 fantastic different cookies. Make sure to cut them small. They are incredibly rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Five stars for taste and VERY easy to make! Used Splenda and it turned out wonderfully. I sprayed the dish with Pam first, but with all the butter, most likely it would have come out just as easily. Next time I'll use more jam and reserve only a cup of the mix for the topping. Thank you for this keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very easy and delicious recipe! The few things that I did differently were to use a combo of raspberry preserves and boysenberry preserves and I also only used 2 cups of flour. I had a lot of the pastry mixture left over so next time I'm going to make the bars in at least a 9x9 pan or larger. I think that I will also grind the nuts up to a finer consistency, too, so that the bars aren't as crunchy. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I slathered on a whole 10 oz jar of organic Raspberry spread, and followed the rest precisely as stated. I sprayed some non-stick spray on the pan before smashing my dough in and the bars came out very easily. Once cooled, I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and cut into small bars. I'll be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Great tasting! As the other reviewer mentioned, I used more jam and reserved less mix for the top. I substituted oats for the walnuts and cut back a bit on the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I thought this was tasty and easy to make, but way too much dough for an 8" pan. I've made it twice now. The second time I made it in a 9" square pan, and put some extra dough in a smaller pan, and still had plenty for the top. I guess I like a slightly thinner cookie base. I also made some with Apricot jam, which I liked even more than the raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very, very good. I used raspberry filling made with frozen raspberries, sugar and cornstarch boiled until goopy (that's the technical cooking term), and the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATSSWELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe as is but for the final 1+cup of topping I added a small handful of soft brown sugar, a small handful of oats and I replaced the walnuts with flaked almonds - superb recipe, top marks and one I will most definitely make again - Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaVincis_Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Delicious! These turned out great and were really easy. I used an 8oz jar of preserves and it was just the right amount. I will make two other changes next time: use a 9-inch pan and add 1/2 tsp salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was not very good, none of us liked it. Once it was cooled we tried it and it tasted like a cobbler thats to dry and stale. The dough was really thick, way to heavy, maybe I did something wrong, but it just came out bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States