Raspberry Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These bars are FANTASTIC!!added 1 teaspoon almond flavoring and a pinch of salt to dough I used a whole jar of raspberry jam and chopped almonds and sprinkled them over the jam(warmed jam in microwave 10 seconds or so to make easy spreading then sprinkled reserved mixture on top really nice yet easy dessert would be good with apricot jam and walnuts with a teaspoon of vanilla in dough some coconut might be nice over the jam also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I give it 4 stars because I feel it needs a little tweaking...but really, as a base recipe it deserves 5 starts. One thing I'll agree with most...use a 9x9 pan, and definitely use more jam. I did 8 oz, and ended up wishing I used the whole 12 oz jar. Definitely add 1/2 tsp salt, and either some vanilla or almond extract, or some kind of flavoring. I can imagine going lemon or orange marmalade with this too...hmmm. All in all, tasty bars, a versatile recipe with few ingredients, and sooo easy to make, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
as other reviewers have said, too much dough for the amount of jam. i baked this in a 9-inch pan, and used 8 oz. of jam. about 25% less dough would probably be about right.that said, the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was awesome, and a lot better than I expected. I made it exactly as written, but I was a little worried about the pastry mixture not being quite right because the butter may not have been softened enough. I did bake it for the full 50 minutes, and it barely got a little browned. I preferred to have the leftovers reheated slightly in the microwave, which made them smell and taste even better. I think I might make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I thought these were very good! I did change one thing though. I added some frozen raspberries in with the jam to give it that little something more to the filling. They turned out really well and I got rave reviews to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These were just what I was looking for and they turned out great I went easy on the raspberry jam, thinking it might be too rich and sweet. That was not the case and I would use the full amount next time. Made for my daughter's teachers Christmas Luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Had to find a use for some jam I made that was too thick. Didn't use the walnuts, added 1/4 c oats instead. Added 1/4 c chopped almonds to the reserved mixture for the top. They came out delicious, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are incredible. I'm almost sorry to say that I ate 3/4 of the batch. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I served these at a summer get-together. They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very easy and delicious recipe! The few things that I did differently were to use a combo of raspberry preserves and boysenberry preserves and I also only used 2 cups of flour. I had a lot of the pastry mixture left over so next time I'm going to make the bars in at least a 9x9 pan or larger. I think that I will also grind the nuts up to a finer consistency, too, so that the bars aren't as crunchy. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States