Raspberry Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I doubled the recipe and got two FULL pies... Given I was doubling and my husband only brought home three cups of raspberries, I was short three cups of fruit.... So I added in two cups of mandarin oranges, cut into small 'bits' and one cup of pineapple pieces. It was delicious -- the mandarin did not over-power the raspberry at all, but seemed to resolve the 'tartness' issue some of the other reviews mentioned. One note, the pies were so full they took almost 90 minutes to bake until they were firm in the middle. For the crumble I used ritz crackers instead of grahams -- scrumptious, buttery and 'nutty'.... made a very 'sophisticated' topping for a simple but also sophisticated pie. The end of both pies were eagerly taken home by guests, at the end of the potluck (darn, now I need to make two more). I got GREAT comments from everyone who tried it and I was the 'star' of the family potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by promotionpro
Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm sorry-I hate giving bed reviews. Nothing especially stand out as bad. I just didn't like the taste over-all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Found this recipe yesterday and made it today. What a hit with the family! I used a bag of frozen raspberries (2.5 cups) for one pie and the amount of berries for the filling was just right. Made a second pie with fresh peaches and added a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg to the filling. Just as delicious as the raspberry. Thinking rhubarb might be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used a graham cracker crust (pre-made) instead of a regular pie crust. I followed the recipe as given & had about 2 extra cups of filling, which I put in a bowl and baked along with the pie. I halved the topping and it was plenty for the pie. This is a really yummy recipe, and the filling would be the perfect amount for one 10-inch pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe is delicious. I added some lemon zest to the filling mixture and it gave it a bright, yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made 1/2 the recipe (1 pie) without the walnuts and it was awesome ! Even my daughter (who hates pie) loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Ok, I have made this recipe as is SOOO many times and it's wonderful as is! However, when I went to make it last week week using the final bag of frozen raspberries from our garden I realized that I did not have enough sour cream, so I made one pie and substituted the sour cream with one eight (8) ounce pkg of cream cheese - OMG!!! It turned out awesome! You have to reduce the flour to 2 TBS when you use the cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
WOW! I made two pies ( doulbe the recipe ) for Christmas eve dinner and they were amazing! We had alot of frozen raspberries in th freeze from this summer, so this was perfect. The only this I did different was left the nuts out and only because I didnt have any. I made this recipe again with light sour cream, DO NOT use light, totally ruined it. I will make this pie over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i took this to a church potluck. The comments from people who loved it way outlasted the pie--it completely disappeared! I used a Marie Calender's frozen pie crust on this particular day and got compliments on it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Cook
Home Town: Shoshone, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving. Everybody enjoyed it. Loved it. Will be one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States