Raspberry Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This pie turned out pretty tasty even though I forgot the vanilla. I added all the filling to one pie crust or it would have been an incredibly thin pie. When I stirred in the raspberries (tiny wild ones my boyfriend picked in his yard) the entire filling turned pink. I don't know if this is because the raspberries had been frozen for awhile. I would like to try this pie with other berries-and adding the vanilla of course. One last thing- the berries were very tart so I added extra sugar. My boyfriend said it was delicious- which pleased me because I had thought leaving the vanilla out was a fatal flaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I love this recipe. I'm getting ready to make it for the third time. The only thing I did differently was to puree and de-seed (using a mesh strainer) the raspberries. The filling is quite homogenous that way (no lumps of raspberry) and tastes great. It is wonderful hot or just out of the fridge. I make a half recipe each time and it is the right amount for one pie. I'm using black raspberries from my garden, and this pie is such a wonderful way to spotlight them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Delish!! I used fresh raspberries that I tossed in a little cornstarch and sugar and added it to the pie before adding the cream mixture. It all fit into a 10" deep dish pie crust, but I only used two thirds of the crumble topping. I used oats in the crumble topping rather than nuts as well. Because I used one deep dish pie crust I baked it at 350f degrees for 55 minutes. The tartness of the raspberries went perfect with the sweet topping and creamy texture of the sour cream filling. I liked it better the next day cold out of the fridge then at room temperature after it baked and cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Husband loved it. I used the Shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is a delicious pie. Chilled, it is very refreshing, not too sweet, just right. I used black raspberries from our yard and it turned out perfect. Raspberries are seedy, so if you don't care for seeds pick another fruit. Everyone liked it. I made one pie, but with smaller pie pans I could have gotten two. I will make this one again - I think fresh cherries would be nice to try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
One of my favorite pie recipes! This has been my go-to for the 4th of July, Memorial Day and other summer events, because it's easy, quick and always a favorite. I increase the ingredients by 33% and buy two small bags (the smaller one Walmart sells) of berries instead of measuring them out, and also add a bit more vanilla; other than that, it's perfect. The ingredient ratio change means you can either have three pies, or two deep dish pies (cook at a slightly lower temperature); the recipe as is will NOT make two deep dish pies! I omit the nuts, as I dislike the texture. You can trade the raspberries out for strawberries or probably other fruit. I'll be trying it with peaches this year, and I imagine blueberries and blackberries would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon Oberlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This pie, out of the oven, still warm is the bomb. Like another reviewer mentioned, I too found the leftover or next day, the pie although tasty, the flavor and consistency was off slightly. I wondered if there was a way to make the pie more dense. Another reviewer mentioned Cream Cheese, because this really is a very delicious pie, I'm going to try that. I wonder about adding quick cooking tapioca. I added a cup is fresh blueberries to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bruceldavison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made a mixed berry pie with this recipe. I substituted yoghurt for the sour cream. Delicious and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made the recipe for the pie it was very yummy and my family loved it! I did however use a graham cracker crust homemade. I used honey graham crackers about 12 full peices crumbled up in ziplock bag (could use roller)and about 1 stick of butter melted, just pour in bag and mix all up. Then I used most for the crust but left some to use to sprinkle on the top of the pie instead of using the brown sugar and flour mixture. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Chalker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg Mae
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Made this last night and wasn't that thrilled with it. We ate it warm and thought the texture was weird. Also, it didn't have much flavor. I put the pie in the fridge over night and just had some after dinner now (while cold) and it was great. So much better cold and having sat for 24 hours. The flavor and texture are really nice now. I did a graham cracker crust and I think it goes well with it. I also used pecans instead of walnuts on the topping (personal preference). Everything else was as in the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States