Raspberry Ribbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are sooo good! I made them into bars the first time, but they were hard to cut without crumbling. Now, I make them as cookies instead. I roll the dough into 1" balls, then indent with my thumb. Bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, then fill the indents with jam. Then I bake for anther 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
OMG! These cookies are by far some of the best looking and some of the best tasting! They're buttery, "melt in your mouth", sweet little treats that you'll be proud to serve to anyone becasue they look like they came straight out of a bakery! My only change to the recipe was to use almond extract in place of the vanilla as I love the raspberry and almond combination. I also used regular milk instead of evaporated. I baked the loaves on parchment paper and be sure to let the loaves cool completely before cutting so they don't crumble. I had no trouble with cutting. I used a long knife - it's just like cutting biscotti if you've ever done it. My only regret is that I didn't find these at Christmas, but now that I found them I'm definitely going to make them next year and I just might make these for my nieces for Valentines's Day. I would love to try a strawberry jam and vanilla extract combination. I think you could easily substitute a lot of flavor combinations here.... Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jennabella
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
A very tasty cookie. My family just loves these. They are easy to make. I recommend cooling them for longer than 2 minutes before removing them from the pan to cut. I would wait 4-6 minutes to do this to prevent breakage because the cookies are still to hot & fragile within 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Learn from my mistakes! Make shorter loaves, because if they are too long, they will break as you move them to a cutting board. Don't be tempted to use more jam, as the weight makes the cookie more prone to breaking in the middle. Now that I've struggled through a batch, I would recommend making 2 inch by 6 inch loaves, as the loaves spread in width while baking. As noted by several others, don't be tempted to make the jam indentation too deep as the individual cookies will break. The cookies taste great, they just need a bit of finesse before baking. I used seedless raspberry and cherry jams, both were excellent with the almond flavored icing drizzle. Note - if storing, use waxed paper between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These are very yummy cookies. My suggestion after making them once is to be sure to line your pan with foil. The jam can drip a little, and the foil makes clean-up a breeze. Also, bake on a regular cookie sheet. I used an air bake sheet the first time and the bottoms didn't get brown and crispy enough. I did make a batch where I substutited "I can't believe it's not butter" for the regular butter, and used regualr milk rather than evaporated milk and they turned out fine. Wonderful recipe. My family and friends rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corndogmcp
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Good, buttery cookie with raspberry filling. The icing on top is neccessary as the butter cookie base is not very sweet. The results are both beautiful and tasty. I used this recipe to make raspberry thumbprint cookies rather than the bar shape suggested. As a result, I ddin't have any trouble with the cookies breaking. I also discovered that any flavor jam works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very easy and very good, just have to be sure you dont make the indention too deep or they break in half very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tj7933
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a pretty simple recipe. One thing I would suggest is that you use jam or jelly and not a low sugar spread. Low sugar spreads do not have enough sweetness to them and the flavor vanishes into the cookies (at least mine did). I also tried to top with an icing with almond flavoring. This could work, as there are raspberry almond thumbprints on this site that use it. But I found it was a little over powering, so next time I will stick with the recommended vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Wow, these are excellent! They are buttery and flaky and just pure heaven. They're my new holiday cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I absolutely loved these!! Just made them for the first time, and they are delicious. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayJayJury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States