Raspberry Ribbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is the easiest dessert to whip up quickly! I used a drum stick to roll the little dips into the slabs of dough...and instead of the glaze, I drizzled dark chocolate. I made them for Christmas, but they disappeared before Santa even came to our house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natia!
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These cookies are wonderful! they have a great buttery taste, a coupled with the jam, they taste even butter! I like to make a thinner layer of jam, so that when it bakes the jam is thicker and stickier P: as others have mentioned, make the indention about 2/3s to half way down. they break easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious and beautiful cookie. They are very fragile, and you have to be careful when removing them from the baking sheet and when arranging them to put out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Family loved this new addition to the cookie tray and these are probably the easiest as well. I always use parchment paper for baking and I did use wax paper between layers when storing. I also used half and half for the frosting. My husband has sugar issues so I tried using splenda blend for sugar and half canola oil instead of all butter. I also used low sugar spread for the jam. Someone else posted that the low sugar didn't do much for the flavor so I did stir in a bit more splenda into the preserves before I put them on the cookies. It really wasn't that bad, certainly not as good as originally written but not bad if you need to watch the sugar. Low sugar spread tend to "leak" off the loaves also so keep that in mind when applying the spread to the loaves. I also made a few like thumbprints instead of the loaf and they were great also. I will make these again both as written and with changes for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
these completed my Christmas cookie tray making number 10. easy, quick and pretty. best probably made the day of or one day ahead of needed event as they can get kind of soft and break apart. i made with blackberry jam and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
The funniest thing happened with these cookies. I tasted them warm out of the oven and didn't think they were very good. However, the next day when they had thoroughly cooled, they were AWESOME!! Everyone at my Christmas party raved about them. They're going to be a holiday standard in my house. Made them a few days in advance, and they kept very well in a plastic container. Also, I put the glaze in a quart-sized food storage bag then snipped the corner off and piped the glaze over top of the cookies. They looked as pretty as the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe is a great find! Something different than the traditional cookie/square and it doesn't take a lot of time or fuss to make. Lining the pan with tinfoil is good advice because I simply removed the four logs from the baking pan by lifting the tinfoil, without any problem of them breaking. I cut them on the tinfoil as well. I did have one small blunder though. When making the glaze it turned out an unappealing beige/light brown color because neither the vanilla or evap milk I used was while. So I added some green food coloring for an added Xmas touch and dusted it all with icing sugar. I'm very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Not sure how these would turn out but they are GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a nice change of pace and it does look pretty on the plate. I substituted strawberry jam and drizzled chocolate syrup instead of the white glaze. This is a versatile cookie that can be adapted to lots of different flavors. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are very good.. didn't have raspberry jam used strawberry instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States