Raspberry Ribbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Easy recipe that makes fancy looking cookies. I used blackberry jam instead and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a good recipe. I made them as cookies rather than bars. I would suggest putting the glaze in a plastic bag and snipping a small hole in one corner so it pours evenly. I used a spoon and had some too much glaze on some cookies and had a hard time controlling how much and placement of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
We've been making these for years, but we call them "Split Seconds". The only difference is that instead of vanilla we use almond extract, which in my opinion tastes better. Of course, that's how I've always had them! Oh, yeah, as far as them falling apart easily what we do is butter the baking sheet really well before putting the dough on, and allow the cookies to cool for a good 5 minutes before cutting them on the cookie sheet, then transferring them to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very good cookie and very quick to make the dough. The cookie tastes more like a shortbread and as many viewers have said, a little tricky to cut up. I let mine cool for a while (15-20 min) before cutting them, and as long as you cut straight down (and not on an angle), they cut fine. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made these cookies into thumbprint cookies like Lisa suggested. So delicious, a great tea cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I have a batch of these baking now, my third batch this holiday season!... my husband is going nuts! They smell simply out of this world. I followed the directions to a "T" and they turned out nearly perfect, although I have struggled with the cookies spreading as they bake. I quickly re-shaped and re-formed my well for the jam while they were still hot and before the jam went on. I salvaged them nicely that way. The second and third time, I refrigerated the shaped logs for 15 minutes before baking them. Like Sugar Cookies, these can lose their shape and flatten out if the butter is not chilled again. Otherwise, they are perfect every time.. so easy to put together. Thanks you for sharing, Patsy! They are now an intricate part of my cookie platters during the holidays! BTW, for those who are having trouble with the cookies breaking, its because you are making your well TOO DEEP. I keep my cookies exactly 2 inches wide and only make my well about half as deep as the thickness of the cookie. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by DONNA1000
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made these tonight and they are wonderful! I made logs but didn't make the valley in the middle too deep. I didn't make them as wide either. That prevents the cookies from breaking when they are done. The other thing I did was roll the logs in sliced almonds. What a difference in the presentation! I'll try to add a picture. That really dressed them up. I used seedless raspberry preserves and popped it in the microwave to soften it a little before adding it to the cookies so it was easier to spread. Basically these are very easy to make and as taste as good as they look! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made one batch just as the recipe is written. They turned out yummy. But I would agree with other posts that I wouldn't make the the "logs" so long and wide. They can break easily at those dimensions, even if you let them sit longer to cool. I decided to make them for a cookie exchange to yield 100. The ingredients were converted but the dough was too light to hold the log formation, even at a smaller size. I reverted to making balls, flattening them and them indented the center with a pastry tool. These were the best out of all of them. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these and they were incredible! I have never made shortbread before and I've been told that these are basically the same. The only problem I had was with the dough. It was flaky and didn't form to anything. So I got my hands in there, the butter melted and then formed in to a ball. I think I will try them as thumb prints like someone else suggested. These will be my standard Christmas bake exchange cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very tasty - very difficult to do with the bars so I did what other people did and make cookies. Be careful how much jam you use though - it'll run when you bake it if you aren't careful. This will get added to my list of cookie standards though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States