Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was so good and so easy. My family really enjoyed it. I didnt change a thing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very nice pie. I added a bit of lemon zest to the filling to bring out the raspberry flavour and brushed the top with milk and sprinkled it with sugar. Came out beautifully. Make sure you leave it to rest and cool completely before cutting, as it will be runny as other reviewers have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was the best black raspberry pie I or anyone eating it has ever tasted!! I used the basic flaky pie crust recipie (doubled) from this site and it came out flaky and delicious. I brushed the top with egg white and sprinkled it with sugar, which made it gorgeous. I only had tapioca flour, so I used 3 TB of it and 2 TB of corn starch. I also added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon. This recipe is forgiving, too, because I forgot to turn the oven down from 425 degrees. Altogether, AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful! A nice change from apple or cherry. I used fresh raspberries and added maybe a tad more tapicoca, came out perfect. Let sit for a while before serving and add some ice cream on the side- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This is the most delicious berry pie we have ever had. I have made three and they were all fantastic! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Extremely tasty! The first pie I have ever made on my own, and I think it came out pretty darn good. I used 2 packages frozen raspberries (10oz each maybe?) instead of the fresh because it is January afterall. The pie filling does seem a little runnier than I would like, but I have popped it in the fridge so hopefully it will harden up a bit. Really not a problem though if it doesn't. I also used the double pie crust recipe that is on this site and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I fixed two of these pies for Thanksgiving to use up some of my berries. It was fantastic!!!! I used a bigger pie pan so I had to use 1 1/2 times the berries to fill the pan, but it was GREAT!! Glad I found this recipe, THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariah Long
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This pie was a big hit!! Ate while still hot in the middle, and not at all runny. I followed the directions pretty close. I used 2 bags of thawed raspberries and thawed deep dish double crust pie shells. I used 2 heeping Tbl sp of the tapioca and mixed it with 4 Tbl sp of the juice from the berries. Drainded the berries and added to the tapioca. I mixed 1 and 1/8 C sugar with the corn startch and cut in the butter until crumbly. Gradually folded in with the berries and poured into a the bottom pie plate that I already prepped in the oven for a few min. Put the other crust on top cut out some holes and brushed with egg whites. I poured some of the remaining sugar over the crust and stuck it in the oven. Cook time was great followed to the second. Will make this pie again and again. No mess no hassle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Okay, here's the deal. One of the best, most simple raspberry pie recipes I've come across. A couple of things to share with you. First, I've read about "watery" pies. One thing that contributes to that, would be the ripeness of the raspberries (more moisture). Another thing, would be the amount of water that might be left upon washing them. If they are not thoroughly dry, that moisture (along with additional water used in the recipe), might make for a more "watery" pie. I used 4 tabelspoons of water (instead of 6) because my berries were still wet from washing. I also added an additional tablespoon of tapioca. As far as tartness, that I've seen people mentione...again, it's the ripeness of the berries and it's hard to tell if you're buying them in the store and can't taste them. So try a berry before making the pie at home. If it's too tart for your liking, add more sugar than the recipe requires. I added an additional 1/4 cup (total 1-1/2 cups). I also brushed the crust with egg white ~ yummm....a perfectly golden crust! This was awesome ~ the whole pie gone in two days (with just two people ~ yikes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I made this pie yesterday and we have already devoured the pie. When I took the pie out of the oven it was a bit runny, but after sitting for an hour it thicken right up. Excellent with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lucerne Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States