Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
LOVED this recipe!! It was the first fruit pie I ever made, and it turned out delicious! I used the "Best ever Pie Crust" recipe (my second time....still working on it), and it really turned out great! I used fresh raspberries, and Splenda instead of sugar (only one cup). I didn't need the extra water, I just rinsed the raspberries with water, and the mixture seemed wet enough. No runny pie! I even forgot the butter accidently, and it still was fantastic. Will definitely use this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This pie is the perfect combination of ingredients! I used a frozen berry medley mix from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been baking for 33 years and on numerous occassions have sold my baking at Christmas and other special events. I have NEVER heard of adding water to a fruit pie, but I thought I should follow the recipe as others rated it very high. Made this last night with fresh raspberries and it turned out to be a soupy mess! Husband and the kids ate it but I couldn't. Don't know if I'll make again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used raspberries that I had frozen over the summer. I thawed them, mixed with the cornstarch, sugar, and tapioca, and poured it into the crust. I didn't add any water. It was the perfect consistency and tartness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am making this pie today for Thanksgiving. My family--especially my husband-- loves this recipe. I follow it exactly (I use frozen berries most of the time. And it comes out great. Give it at least 4 hours to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Oh my, yes! Simply delicious and easy to make, especially since I use refrigerated pie crusts (never mastered it). Tastes like grandma's pie that sat in the windowsill to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this pie last night for my husbands' birthday--and he really loved it. I thought it tasted a little like jam, but it was still pretty good. The only thing was that I used frozen raspberries, completely thawed and drained and there was A LOT of water. I didn't add any (the recipe calls for 6 tablespoons) and it was still a tad runny. So remember that if you make this with frozen raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was my first fresh berry pie and it was fabulous. Maybe because I picked the berries myself:) *Note to all the virgin pie makers - put a pan under the pie to catch the juices that will spill out during cooking - or put a piece of foil under the pie.* I didn't dry the raspberries after washing and I added water so it was pretty runny in the baking process. It was great after it cooled for 12 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I love to cook but pies have been my least favorite thing to make. This recipe made with our fresh raspberries and the phenomenal crust recipe Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust found on Allrecipes have given me a new confidence in pie making. This pie thickens up so nicely. Give it a try and I hope you'll agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We had a great year for raspberries from our garden and after making lots of freezer jam my husband asked if I would make him a raspberry pie. I used this recipe and it was absolutely a scrumptious hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States