Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was my first ever berry pie and it came out amazing! It was the perfect amount of sweet and not at all runny - I cut the first piece and it came out clean & perfect. So happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was great. I followed the recipe as written, except I forgot the butter. Very tasty. Definitely will make this again next year when my raspberries are ripe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is my go-to pie. I am an avid pie baker, and this pie by far receives the most compliments. Personally I enjoy the tart yet still sweet flavor of this pie, and my recipients have complimented me on it as well. Its sweet, yet still retains the natural tartness from the raspberries, without being too tart or overly sweet. I have made this pie several times, using both frozen, fresh or 50/50 fresh/frozen raspberries. Never have I had a pie turn out runny or even juicy. My favorite way to eat this pie is cold out of the fridge, perfect for a summer day when berries are ripe and the temps are high! If you like raspberries or pie (or if you're like me and LOVE both) then this is the best recipe to use! Its very important if you are experiencing a runny pie, that there are adequate slits for steam to escape. I prefer a lattice top, as it hides imperfections in your crust, and is less likely to break, as well as lets l plenty of steam escape. Furthermore its importants to let the raspberry, tapioca, cornstarch, sugar mix sit for a bit. I make my crust during this time, so my raspberries usually sit for 30-45 min. I also use less butter. 4 tablespoons is a bit much for my liking, so I usually use around 2 and dice the butter up and spread onto the top crust. It will give the crust a nice color, and the excess with drip into berries while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Peeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this pie with a few changes: I marinated my raspberries with 1/3 c sugar and 2TB cherry liquor for an hour before stirring in the balance of the sugar. I did not add in the water, but I did add in the liquor marinated juices. Also added in a 1/2 TB more tapioca. Came out a tad runny, but not worth complaining about! Tasted fantastic. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this pie as written except that I only used two tablespoons of water and the pie was still too runny. I let it set for 8 hours before cutting which should have been more than enough. The filling also tasted a bit too tart for my taste although that may have been the fault of the raspberries (I used fresh). I may try making it again using no water at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is an awesome recipe that I have used with blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. Just line the bottom of your oven with foil to catch the juice that will spill if you do a lattice top. Cover pie loosely with foil at the 15 minute mark to keep the top from getting too dark. It will still brown and you have to turn the temp. down at this time anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband the pie expert gives this one a four!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was fantastic! I used fresh picked black raspberries and I took the advice of another review & only added 4 T of water because of the remaining water on the washed the berries... came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i couldn't find my grandmother's recipe for black raspberry pie, but i wanted to make some, so i went ahead and tried this because it was similar. i used 3 cups of berries instead of 4 (they barely fit, 4 would have overflowed for sure), used UNTHAWED frozen berries because you can't get fresh black raspberries here, used only 3/4 cup sugar, did not use water, used full amount of thickening agents for the reduced amount of berries, otherwise they would have had to increase. i made my grandmother's pie crust, which is amazing. you really need a scratch crust for this, that store bought stuff doesn't compare and your pie won't be anything special using it. i used a milk wash, then sprinkled sugar on top. i tried the two temp baking method, but did 10 minutes and 40 minutes, for perfect golden doneness. adding water and too little thickening ingredients are why people are getting soupy pies. i cut mine open hot from the oven, because i'm impatient like that, and the filling stayed in my pie piece perfectly. also, for people saying they thought the filling turned out like jam, try using frozen berries as well as less sugar. my berries stayed whole and the pie was nice and tart. i think my changes make a 5-star pie easily, but as written, 3-4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States