Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made this pie MANY times and it always turns out delicious. The first year I made this, I took it to a Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it and raved about it. Now, I am begged to bring this pie every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
The flavor is great, but I could eat this pie through a straw! Do NOT add water!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I used frozen raspberries from our bushes from last summer. They were still mostly frozen so I omitted the water. I added a little more sugar though, personal preference. It disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have made this twice following the directions as written. I came out AMAZING! My boyfriend LOVES IT!! When I bought raspberries they weren't quite ripe enough so I left them out over night and then they were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good, though I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I used thawed frozen black raspberries (didn't drain the berry juices), no water, 4 T. cornstarch and 8 tsp. tapioca (8 tsp. = 2 T. and 2 tsp.). I had no issues with the pie being too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I just finished eating a portion of this pie--would like to call it a slice, but considering that I had to eat it with a spoon... I had high hopes for this pie. I read the reviews and was worried about it being runny. I used dry, fresh raspberries, added one extra tablespoon of tapioca, added and extra 1/4 cup of sugar, and used 5 tablespoons of water. It still turned out runny! The flavor is nice, but the consistency ruins it, unfortunately. If I make this pie again, I would consider not adding any water at all. Hopes this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doveyes
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I was so impressed with this pie!. So Simple and Delicious. We devoured it in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doveyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was my first ever berry pie and it came out amazing! It was the perfect amount of sweet and not at all runny - I cut the first piece and it came out clean & perfect. So happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was great. I followed the recipe as written, except I forgot the butter. Very tasty. Definitely will make this again next year when my raspberries are ripe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is my go-to pie. I am an avid pie baker, and this pie by far receives the most compliments. Personally I enjoy the tart yet still sweet flavor of this pie, and my recipients have complimented me on it as well. Its sweet, yet still retains the natural tartness from the raspberries, without being too tart or overly sweet. I have made this pie several times, using both frozen, fresh or 50/50 fresh/frozen raspberries. Never have I had a pie turn out runny or even juicy. My favorite way to eat this pie is cold out of the fridge, perfect for a summer day when berries are ripe and the temps are high! If you like raspberries or pie (or if you're like me and LOVE both) then this is the best recipe to use! Its very important if you are experiencing a runny pie, that there are adequate slits for steam to escape. I prefer a lattice top, as it hides imperfections in your crust, and is less likely to break, as well as lets l plenty of steam escape. Furthermore its importants to let the raspberry, tapioca, cornstarch, sugar mix sit for a bit. I make my crust during this time, so my raspberries usually sit for 30-45 min. I also use less butter. 4 tablespoons is a bit much for my liking, so I usually use around 2 and dice the butter up and spread onto the top crust. It will give the crust a nice color, and the excess with drip into berries while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Peeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States