Raspberry Pain au Chocolat (Raspberry Chocolate Croissants) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Outstanding! In order to prevent the jam from seeping out during cooking, heat it in a saucepan and add cornstarch. Once the jam cools completely (very important!) it will have a much thicker consistency and won't seep out while baking. The first batch I made I rolled out too thin which presented 2 issues...the pastry didn't puff much while cooking & the dough was very fragile since it was so thin. They still tasted great! I made mine more "bite sized" so I sliced the pieces smaller. Second batch was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These little guys are easy to make, taste great, and look impressive! The only thing I'd say to watch out for, is making sure you don't make the slices too long on the top of the pastry, or the raspberry preserves will spill out and make a mess of everything (a few of my guys didn't quite make it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Thank you for posting a simple and quick croissant recipe. I'll be making this again soon and will try different fillings also. Just a note, the egg wash to seal the edges is really important to keep filling inside. I forgot to do it on one croissant and the filling leaked out across the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
really good. I dropped the raspberries and just used hazelnut spread instead after the first two batches. Always a crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
im not so sure about this recipe. you have to be quite precise to get it right and i took my time. after rolling out the pastry, mine wasnt perfectly square anymore. then you cut it into nine pieces, which turn out to be quite small, and if they are not perfectly square, then the edges don't come together well when folded. i used just a little bit of the egg on the edges, but it made the it goey and hard to stick together. when cooking i had blow outs, which isnt too bad, but the blow out of jam burns to the bottom of the pastry. also, my vent slits all melded together so it just looked like it had lines in the dough rather than slits. the taste was pretty good. I think i may put an entire layer of neutella and jam on an entire pastry, roll it up, chill it for an hour to firm the dough, and then cut it into 1/2 rolls. that way you only have two big edges to worry about instead of 9*4 little edges. With less edges, you get more filling per bite. Also, you can roll it up, wrap the rolled dough around to form a breakfast ring, seal the two edges, and cut vents about half way down so that the servings are easy to separate. lots of potential and what is not great with neutella? will try variations and get back to you. i wonder if neutella, raspberry and cream cheese would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good, will make again. Used half the pastry with the chocolate/raspberry filling, and half with feta cheese/ greek olives. Was happy with both the sweet and savory versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I used seedless red raspberry jam and a really good quality black cherry and blue berry jam (the black cherry was better then the red raspberry, not overly sweet) As far as the filling, I think more is better. I ended up with a good heaping teaspoon of the chocolate spread and just a little less then a heaping teaspoon of the jam. I did some with just plain jam, but everyone seemed to prefer the chocolate spread. I also dusted the pastry with a coarse sugar and everyone loved it. Don't worry about the sizes being so precise, just cut the sheet into three strips at the fold and each strip into three again, give them a little roll and fill. Thanks for the great recipe Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These turned out very well and were not difficult to make. People were surprised that I hadn't bought them at a bakery. The crust is flaky and crisp and the filling is good. I would recommend being generous with the filling. Some of mine had more than others, and the ones with more tasted better. Some may bubble out on baking but it doesn't really matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These were fantastic! I took them to my office for Bastille Day and everyone loved them. They were so easy and beautiful, it almost doesn't seem fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Loved the Nutella and raspberry jam, but felt the puff pastry overwhelmed the filling. This site has a recipe for crepes with Nutella and bananas, garnished with whipped cream and strawberries. I think I'll try that with some of the remaining Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States