Raspberry Pain au Chocolat (Raspberry Chocolate Croissants) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are great. I've made them as instructed in this recipe but I've also made them a bit different with great results. I have used chocolate chips instead of the spread and cut the pastry in circles rather than squares. However you decide to make them, these are really cute, nice and flaky, easy and they look elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made these yesterday!!!!! Company came over unexpectatley and devoured them in 30 minutes. So good. Only one thing took only about 14 min in my oven .Watch very carefully or they burn underneath. So yummy.Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I cannot rave enough about this easy and yummy dessert! I made these for guests who each ate 3 or 4 in an hour. They just couldn't stop eating them. I was hoping to have quite a few as leftovers, but there were only 2 left. I made several changes as others suggested: I didn't worry about exact measurements for rolling the pastry, I just kept a general rectangle shape; I didn't measure the nutella or the jam (I used raspberry and strawberry preserves, but the raspberry was the best.); I crimped the edges with a fork; used an egg wash on them before putting them in the oven; used parchment paper on the pan; and checked them after 13 minutes. One or two of them were a little messy on the parchment paper, but it didn't matter, because they tasted so good that people ate them anyways. Definitely serve these with coffee and on plates with forks, because they are messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a really great recipe! I did half with the raspberry and half replaced with peanut butter. I couldn't decided which went faster! My only qualm is that the directions for cutting the puff pastry can be a little difficult to understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is so good and so easy! Whenever I make this, someone invariably asks for the recipe. I always keep these simple ingredients in the fridge now, for unexpected guests or last-minute get togethers, and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My kids loved these. Very easy, very elegant and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These little gems were loved by all. I was in a huge hurry and wanted smaller/mini pastries so I just cut along the fold lines in the pastry and then divided each of the three strips into four equal squares. I dropped 1 teaspoon of seedless red raspberry jam and 1/2 teaspoon of nutella near the edge of one of the shorter sides and rolled them up tight. Place them seam side down on parchment and pushed them down a little to make sure they stayed rolled up. These are so fast and easy with yummy results. I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was great, followed the instructions except modified the filling: I used Cadbury dark chocolate and broke into bite sized pieces. I took these to an Easter brunch and they were a huge hit! I will definitely make them again, perfect size too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very good. My son ate Pain au Chocolat every morning when he lived in France. We tried making them from scratch and it tasted more like a baking powder biscuit. These were flaky and tasty, just be careful that they don't burn on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were very good! I liked the ones with just a little raspberry jam the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States