Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Add just a little milk or water to the crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Excellent! Replaced water with lemon juice and added a splash of milk to the cake/oat mix. End result was very moist and perfectly tart. These were all gone by the end of the party I took them to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
If someone feels the bars are too sweet they can use low-sugar jam or even sugar free. This recipe begs for experimenting because it's so easy. Try a spice cake mix with apple filling and a little cinnamon...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Will make again with the splash of milk, but I might only use a half tablespoon of lemonjuice - they were really lemony with a full tablespoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! After reading the reviews and suggestions I decided to use Duncan Hines French Vanilla (white) cake mix. I've used the yellow cake mix in other recipes similar to this and didn't care for it at all. It's too sweet and has a flavor that reminds me of those store made sugar cookies. Anyhoo...I added 1 tsp. almond extract, used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup vegetable oil instead of the margarine to cut down on the fat and calories, 1 1/2 Cups of Lingonberry Jam, 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice instead of the water as others suggested to cut down on the sweetness. Everything else I did the same way and baked it for 25 minutes. OMG! It's fabulous! Not too sweet, the crust stayed together nicely when I cut it and I had to arm wrestle my husband and son for the last piece. I'm really looking forward to getting creative with the cake and jam. Next I'm going to try it with Pineapple Cake and Orange Marmalade Jam. I'm going to sprinkle toasted almonds on the top. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
wonderful, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Haiku: "Seriously good. Can't be any easier. (Great for a bake sale.)" I've been making these for years, and can't believe I'm just getting around to unloading my 5-stars on this so-excellent-so-easy recipe! The only things that I do different is swapping water for lemon juice, and adding a splash of milk and 1/4 tsp. vanilla to the cake/oats. I've experimented w/ different cake flavors/fillers (such as chocolate cake w/ nutella in the middle, or lemon cake w/ strawberry jelly), but I've found that as written, this recipe always wows people who taste it, and even more fun is their being unaware at just how crazy simple it is to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Yum! I subbed the raspberry jam with strawberry preserves, but it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love the taste of this. I made the recipe as written for the rating. I've also made a variation of this which is adding 3/4 cup canola oil instead of the margarine and I added about 1/2 creamy peanut butter to the dry ingredient mix to give it a pb&j taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I ate these growing up on the bus to away volleyball games. I'm so happy to have the actual recipe! They're delicious, and everyone I make them for requests the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States