Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This a quick and easy way to serve your coworkers a treat just because. I used marionberry jam and it was the bomb. I also used chocolate sauce and almond butter and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I know, I know, I made some changes, so I'm not really reviewing THIS recipe. However, it was still excellent so it gets 5 stars with my changes, which were: French Vanilla cake mix instead of yellow and apple dessert filling instead of the raspberry jam. I also only had regular rolled oats instead of quick oats, but they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These are super easy to make. I followed the recipe just added a full 18oz jar of raspberry preserves for a more fruiter middle. I will try using some lemon juice instead of water next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Familychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were super yummy! I read that people suggested more jam, so in mine I added a pkg of raspberries, tossed some sugar on them and mixed and chopped them in with the jam. I did also add about a tsp of vanilla to the batter. Because of the added raspberries, it was more moist and needed to be baked a few minutes longer. Would make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Wowzers! Super yummy. Rich and buttery crust matches well with the sweet and tart raspberries. And it was so easy to make because of the use of the cake mix. I will be a rock star when I make this for friends and family. I used lemon juice instead of water, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Wasn't a big fan. My roommates dad in college used to make a recipe like this, and I've been searching for it every since. Falls apart too much, not wild about taste, almost commercial. Made for bbq, I think only one was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Easy and fantastic. I added more oats cuz I'm an oaty person. And I agree with adding more jam. We did strawberry and the bars didn't last long at our house. Very versatile recipe and easy to make for potlucks, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Mine turned out dry and very very crumbly. Needed to eat with a fork. Had really hoped for better results. Suggestions appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Yummy! I included these with my usual Christmas cookie spread this year and they were the first ones gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These bars are absolutely NOT too sweet! They're bar cookies; they're supposed to be sweet. What I recommend is making them once, following the recipe exactly. Then if you want to add ingredients or substitute, you'll have a better idea what you're doing. I made these exactly following the recipe and thought they were scrumptious...raves from my guests, and the entire panful disappeared. I did think the bottom was a bit crumbly, but not really a problem. I added 1T milk to the bottom layer, and it held together better but had a different texture. I could not detect the aftertaste one reviewer claimed to find. I have used sliced almonds on the top and chocolate chips in with the preserves. Excellent! If you're looking for a delicious, easy dessert recipe, this will become your go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States