Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I love these! I've made these a dozen times and here are a couple suggestions that I've found make them even better: As another user suggested, use 1 Tbsp lemon juice instead of the 1 Tbsp water. Also, I always add a few splashes of milk or evaporated milk of half and half (whatever I have on hand)to the cake mixture. It makes the bars stick together much better and they don't come out too crumbly at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Oh, man, these are good! I used lemon cake mix, and instead of adding water to the jam, I used lemon juice. The lemon-raspberry combo is simply wonderful. These came together so easily; they'll be a regular around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Wonderful snack! Healthy too since I replaced apple sauce instead of butter! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is the easiest recipe with the best results. I make them the night before and cover the sheet pan with foil, and cut in the a.m. It can even be made up to 2 days ahead to be cut up on the third dat. This is a big hit at our bake sale and my brother-in-law has me make them every year for his birthday. This is not a cakey recipe. It doesnt even taste like cake, people can believe it when i give them the recipe. Try other fillings like fluff and chocolate chips,, peanut butter chips,, Anything goes with this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I love this recipe! When the bars cool, I like to melt about 2 Tbsp. of white or cream cheese frosting in a bowl. Then I drizzle lines over the top in a lattice pattern. Gives these bars a certain finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Martin, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This bar was very good but too sweet for my taste. I served them at a baby shower and everyone loved them. They're the easiet and fastest recipe to make. I think next time I would use 2 cups of jam to create a fruitier flavor. All I could really taste was the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Wonderful and quick recipe. I also only had lemon cake mix on hand, and they turned out wonderful. I also substitued the water for lemon juice. A few tips: - Do not overbake, or they will be very dry. Mine took only 16 min. to bake completely. - Make sure your butter is completely melted. - Cut the squares, when they are completely cooled or they will crumble on you! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croghan, New York, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cher
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I enhanced the flavor a little with adding 1/2 tsp. Vanilla and almond extracts to the dough. It really gave this recipe a boost. Will make again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made these using butter instead of margarine, Pilsbury Golden Butter yellow cake mix and strawberry preserves. The butter and butter-flavored cake mix became a little overwhelming after two or three bars. Next time I'll use just a basic yellow mix. Also, I used about 1 1/2 cups of preserves and would still like more fruit flavor next time. Awesome quick and easy recipe to have on hand with endless possibilities. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good bars but next time I would increase the jam to 1 1/2 cups...seemed to need more fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States