Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I'm giving the original recipe 3 stars because I changed it so much. The way I made it, definitely 5 stars. I used a lemon cake mix (16.5 ounces), 2 1/2 c old fashioned oatmeal (b/c that's what I had) and 1 cup of butter. It was sticky, but I let it sit, stirring it every few minutes, and after about 20 minutes/half an hour the butter had soaked into the dry ingredients and the dough was crumbly. At the time, I was making homemade raspberry jam and had about a cup and a half of mashed raspberry left. I put it into a pot with a third of a cup of sugar and simmered it down until it was thickened; I then added about half a cup of finished jam and the consistency was perfect. I then followed the recipe, pressing the dough into the pan, spreading the raspberry mixture on top of that, and crumbling the rest of the mixture on top; pressed it down slightly to adhere. Took about 23 minutes to cook. Then as it was cooling, made a liquidy vanilla glaze with milk, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla and drizzled it from a baggie with a hole cut in the corner. Waited until it was barely warm to cut into squares - it cut beautifully. I served it on July 4 with homemade vanilla ice cream and my family said it was amazing and tore it up. Not something to have all the time, but definitely a special treat - and the extra raspberry flavor made it even better. I'm glad I increased the amount of filling and used fresh berries and not all jam for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
So easy and so good! I've made these in so many different combinations and they have all been good. One of the favorites and requested over and over is cinnamon in with the oats and cake mix, also put a little cinnamon in the apple pie filling. Any fruit pie filling would work. I want to try the lemon cake mix now :) I also put a whole can of pie filling or at least double the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made exactly as written with the addition of the cream cheese frosting drizzle mentioned by schoolcook. So easy, so good! Next time I'm increasing the amount of jam, maybe, but these are great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzm388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great! Excellent to tinker with as well. Made a quick and easy party treat in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very good for healthy snack,used different kind of jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nussa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sag Harbor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Tasty but a touch on the dry side. Add a little extra jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Made as written except for using old fashioned oats since that's what I had. They received rave reviews when paired with ice cream and raspberry sauce! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Excellent snack item! Made this two days ago & it vanished very quickly. I followed other reviewers' advice & made it with the lemon juice alternate & a splash of milk into the oatmeal mix. This second time around, I increased the oatmeal to 3 cups & I used butter (1 cup) instead of margarine, & my mixture was not crumbly at all. Thank you Megan, for your delicious contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
quick & easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States