Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very Simple recipe that I just had to jazz up! I only used 2 cups quick oats and added 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Also I added 1 cup white chocolate chips on top of the jam. Both were great additions. I can't wait to try this recipe again using a lemon cake mix as other viewers have suggested. And I would also like to try it with unsweetened applesauce in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were a big hit! I also used lemon flavored cake mix and it really made them delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I think these bars taste great..but I had a problem getting them out of the pan. They cooked and cooled for the right amount of time..but are still crumbling apart. I will make these again though..so thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am a huge fan of yellow cake mix, so I thought I would love these bars - but I didn't. I took them to a work party and came home with more than half a pan left!They are okay, but I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I'm so glad I waited until today to review these. Out of the oven we considered them to be....eh...not that great. They seemed to have a chemical or artificial quality to them. I figured I'd be throwing some out. But I had one this morning for breakfast and quite enjoyed it. These are really good at room temp and the texture is just right. Just a little bitty square is plenty, I got 18 servings in a 9x13 and the serving size was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I only had strawberry jam, and boy was it ever good. Thank you for a quick and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was my "new" cookie recipe for Christmas baking..I made them with white cake mix & raspberry seedless jam & with seedless strawberry, seedless blackberry & apricot...they are delicious...even my 87 yr old mom, says they are delicious. Thank you for such an easy recipe. I had my doubts, whenever I use a cake mix for something other than a cake, it never tastes that great, but this is the exception....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not quite the "bars" that I was expecting. After sitting for a bit, they were a little gooey on the bottom and crumbly on the top so eating them neatly was definitely an issue. I would've given them 3 stars but I did give them 4 because all of the kids loved them (oatmeal and all!) Didn't find them overly sweet as some others had mentioned but they are filled with jam (i.e., chock full of sugar) so they are more of a snack than an oatmeal breakfast. The only change that I made was using strawberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I pretty much like anything sweet but the bars tasted like dry cake mix there wasn't enough jam either and I added more than what was recommended. The cake mix makes it much too sweet and I've never complained about anything being too sweet in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super easy to make. I followed the suggestion of a few others and added more jam for a fuller fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States