Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I used plum jam and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Well, I won't make these again because they taste like cake mix (which I like, don't get me wrong) and I was hoping the cake mix flavor would be less obvious. These taste exactly like cake mix with raspberry jam. If you don't mind that, then give the recipe a shot. My little boy loved them and keeps asking me to make them again, but I'll keep looking for a more "homemade" tasting recipe. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
too sweet, too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These are great! I added 1 Tbsp. lemon juice instead of water to the jam. Then I sprinkled some white chocolate chips on the jam before adding the rest of the oat mixture. When they first come out the oven they are crumbly and don't hold together, but wait until they are cool, then they keep their shape. Next time I think I will make them in a smaller pan so they are thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
awesome! make sure your raspberry jam doesn't have too much sugar (I just checked labels and wound up buying a cheaper brand). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Everyone loved these bars & they were so easy to make. I needed something quick & this recipe definitely fit the bill! I made only minor changes to the recipe; I used an extra 1/2 cup of jam & instead of water, I added 1.5 tablespoons of non-dairy creamer to the jam. I microwaved the jam for 30 seconds (as another poster suggested) & mixed in the non-dairy creamer after that. I did have to bake them for 27 minutes & they came out perfect. I usually use my convection oven but I was baking something else in it at the time so I used my regular oven for the bars. Next time, I will use my convection oven & adjust the time to around five minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very Simple recipe that I just had to jazz up! I only used 2 cups quick oats and added 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Also I added 1 cup white chocolate chips on top of the jam. Both were great additions. I can't wait to try this recipe again using a lemon cake mix as other viewers have suggested. And I would also like to try it with unsweetened applesauce in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were a big hit! I also used lemon flavored cake mix and it really made them delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I think these bars taste great..but I had a problem getting them out of the pan. They cooked and cooled for the right amount of time..but are still crumbling apart. I will make these again though..so thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am a huge fan of yellow cake mix, so I thought I would love these bars - but I didn't. I took them to a work party and came home with more than half a pan left!They are okay, but I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States