Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Quick, easy and delicious. I used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the 3/4 cup margine called for. According to other suggestions, I also used lemon juice instead of water and added 1/2 teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extract. The amount of jam is perfect and more would be too much. I used a small piece of wax paper to help press the mixture into the bottom of the pan. After one hour at work, the pan was half gone and I had requests for the recipe. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Very easy to make and not bad for you. I used applesauce instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Very good, held together better than I expected. Had to use lemon cake mix as that is all that is offered in the country I live in, but the raspberry/lemon was a nice mix. Added slivered almonds to top it, looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Thinking I would love it, I took the advice of others and increased the jam to 1 1/2C which proved to be too much - thus the extreme sweetness and difficulty keeping them together. Also,next time I will put just over 1/2 the dough on the botton to add stability. They were "almost" cool when I cut them so chilling them helped remedy the problem that caused me! Great suggestion to use the lemon cake and lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Too Sweet! I used to make these using this recipe and I loved them. I lost the recipe and started making a from scratch version in the mean time. I was excited to again find this recipe as I remember liking them. Problem is the scratch recipe is so much better and not horribly sweet like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
So easy, so flavorful. great recipe for a quick situation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Such a tasty treat. I follow the recipe step by step. I used low sugar raspberry jam with a splash of lime juice. I've been dieting so every calorie counts. A small piece takes care of the sweet tooth. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I thought that these were alright. They are a little too sweet for my tastes but maybe I'll have to try it again. I used butter instead of margarine, lemon juice instead of water and blueberry jam instead of raspberry. I also added a splash of milk as another reviewer had suggested. I'm not crazy wild about these but I'll give 4 stars because they are super easy to make and people at work seemed to really like them. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am only giving this 4 stars because I made some changes and I am not sure that I liked the taste of the box cake mix. I replaced the butter with applesauce and the water with lemon juice. I used blackberry jam. I served this warm with a scoop of premium vanilla ice cream and topped it with fresh blueberries that I heated in the microwave. My guest raved over my fancy dessert. No one said anything but I thought the bar had a box mix taste to it. I will make again though because my guests thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake39
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This recipe looked so yummy, I had to try it! I didn't have any raspberry jam/jelly, but I had some blackberry preserves I needed to use up, so I used that instead. I made it in two 8"x 8" x 2" pans when a friend came over, so I could send a pan home with her. It came out quite delicious-it disappeared quite quickly! The only change I made was substituting lemon juice for the water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake39

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States