Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I changed up this recipe a bit but it turned out AMAZING! Instead of raspberry jam I put in 2 cups frozen berries picked from my garden. For topping I only saved 1/4 of mix and added in 2 cups shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Rose Piedlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I like the overall concept and the simplicity of the recipe although I will not make it again as written because I didn't care for the yellow cake mix flavor. If I make it again I will use a lemon cake mix and perhaps add a bit more moisture or an egg to the crumbs for the base crust portion. I also think that less sugar in the fruit mixture would taste better as there is plenty of sweetness in the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made it twice, once with a blackberry jam on a sugar free yellow cake base, and once with raspberry on a lemon cake base. They were both delicious. I don't know if the cake base made a huge difference, but I did prefer the raspberry. I also substituted half the butter for apple sauce, and added a splash of milk. I added a splash too much on the second one and it was significantly harder to spread as it was too gooey. Probably would be fine without it at all. Both versions were a huge hit with our guests at a surprise birthday party. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So delicious and so easy! Love these! You can use almost any jam/filling. My favorite is Cherry Jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I'm giving the original recipe 3 stars because I changed it so much. The way I made it, definitely 5 stars. I used a lemon cake mix (16.5 ounces), 2 1/2 c old fashioned oatmeal (b/c that's what I had) and 1 cup of butter. It was sticky, but I let it sit, stirring it every few minutes, and after about 20 minutes/half an hour the butter had soaked into the dry ingredients and the dough was crumbly. At the time, I was making homemade raspberry jam and had about a cup and a half of mashed raspberry left. I put it into a pot with a third of a cup of sugar and simmered it down until it was thickened; I then added about half a cup of finished jam and the consistency was perfect. I then followed the recipe, pressing the dough into the pan, spreading the raspberry mixture on top of that, and crumbling the rest of the mixture on top; pressed it down slightly to adhere. Took about 23 minutes to cook. Then as it was cooling, made a liquidy vanilla glaze with milk, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla and drizzled it from a baggie with a hole cut in the corner. Waited until it was barely warm to cut into squares - it cut beautifully. I served it on July 4 with homemade vanilla ice cream and my family said it was amazing and tore it up. Not something to have all the time, but definitely a special treat - and the extra raspberry flavor made it even better. I'm glad I increased the amount of filling and used fresh berries and not all jam for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
So easy and so good! I've made these in so many different combinations and they have all been good. One of the favorites and requested over and over is cinnamon in with the oats and cake mix, also put a little cinnamon in the apple pie filling. Any fruit pie filling would work. I want to try the lemon cake mix now :) I also put a whole can of pie filling or at least double the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made exactly as written with the addition of the cream cheese frosting drizzle mentioned by schoolcook. So easy, so good! Next time I'm increasing the amount of jam, maybe, but these are great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzm388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great! Excellent to tinker with as well. Made a quick and easy party treat in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very good for healthy snack,used different kind of jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nussa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sag Harbor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States