Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The reviewer from Texas that gave this a one star was not basing her opinion on the recipe the way it was written. You put applesauce and whole wheat flour into a dessert recipe, it's going to change how it tastes, and you really shouldn't be one-starring recipes here if you didn't follow directions. With that said, I followed the recipe as directed (go figure!) and ended up with deliciously crunchy sweet berry bars that were un-put-down-able. The vote was unanimous - this recipe's a winner, and it's been requested for Thanksgiving. And again, people, please don't rate recipes poorly if you took artistic license with them, just don't say anything and chalk it up to a bad idea, ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made these yesterday and they were deemed a 'keeper' by the family immediately. I followed the recipe as written except that I used a raspbery, blueberry, blackberry perserve combination instead or straight raspberry. There is plenty of oatmeal/flour mixture to cover both the top and bottom of the bars, so no worries. I would recommend stirring up your preserves in a small bowl before adding them to the crust; this will allow for easier spreading. Also, do not spread the preserves all the way to the edge, but rather leave a little space so there is no burning. I would also reccomend keeping an eye on them during baking time; mine were done at about 18 minutes...25 minutes would've been too long in my oven. A yummy recipe we all enjoyed....thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
These were so easy to make, and tasted great! Since my three year old is allergic to peanuts I have a hard time finding granola bars for him. I cut these bars into rectangles so that they resembled granola bars. They were a huge hit! My only problem was that I couldn't use the outer 1/4 inch of the bars, since the jelly burned onto the pan, so I just cut around that. Next time, I'll be sure to spread the jelly so that it doesn't quite go to the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yum yum! I substituted applesauce for 1/4 cup of the butter, and left some of the sugar out! If I did it again, I would probably leave even more sugar out. Also, I didn't have very many preserves so heated up some frozen strawberries and added in a little bit of corn starch to thicken them up! (no sugar with the strawberries) It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My oldest boy and I made this together (mostly him, I supervised). I added my own touch (one heaping teaspoon of dried lemon peel to the "crust"). We didn't need the whole jar of raspberry preserves, one cup was plenty. These are baking right now. Great for simplicity with a small list of on hand ingredients for young bakers. EDITED: These were okay. A pain in the rear to get out of the pan. We basically had to chisel them out. Not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Oh YUM! Per another reviewer I cut back the sugar by half and replaced a quarter of the butter with applesauce. Not only is this a great dessert but it also goes wonderfully with morning coffee. Thank you so much Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These are good with all kinds of preserves/jam. I add a little vanilla to the dough, too. I am going to make a bunch and freeze them so we can just grab them and run in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Delicious! These are my fiance's favorite, and the man likes his desserts. The first time I made them they burned after 20 minutes- maybe because I had made my own brown sugar with molasses? The second time I lowered the heat to 375 and baked for 17 minutes. Perfect! Delicious with any kind of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorie West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Delicious bars. They are very easy to make. I add some flaked coconut to the crust and I experiment with different jams such as apricot. It is also nice to sprinkle some chopped walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Took me one bite to start ranting and raving over these. They are super easy. Definately did NOT take 20 minutes at 400. Took 17 min for me. So watch carefully. VERY Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States