Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The reviewer from Texas that gave this a one star was not basing her opinion on the recipe the way it was written. You put applesauce and whole wheat flour into a dessert recipe, it's going to change how it tastes, and you really shouldn't be one-starring recipes here if you didn't follow directions. With that said, I followed the recipe as directed (go figure!) and ended up with deliciously crunchy sweet berry bars that were un-put-down-able. The vote was unanimous - this recipe's a winner, and it's been requested for Thanksgiving. And again, people, please don't rate recipes poorly if you took artistic license with them, just don't say anything and chalk it up to a bad idea, ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
A Good Treat, but way too sweet for my taste. Had to have a cup of milk to help wash it down. I will try to make again and cut the sugar in 1/2, and try substituting applesauce for some of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
YUMMY!! And super easy - great crowd pleaser! I used a fork to press mixture into bottom of the pan.. much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was great though I made a few changes.....whole wheat flour, no butter- raspberry low fat yogurt, and I cooked raspberries n strawberries with brown sugar, tblsp of margarine n cinnamon. Very yummy! Thanks gave me something good 2 do with my raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newfoodie-Rell
Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for a snack for my son. I made these with apricot preserves, and they were delicious. My son doesn't like them, but maybe he's just weird because I can't get enough of them. A suggestion: nuke the preserves in the microwave for 15-20 seconds to make them easier to spread. I followed other suggestions to not spread the preserves all the way to the edges which worked great. There was one spot where the preserves did touch the edge, and it was difficult to get out of the pan. I baked them at 400 for about 20 minutes, and they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I must have missed something with this recipe because all the reviews are ranting and raving about it but this recipe was difficult to make. I followed another reviewer's advice to sub applesauce for some of the butter and leave out a little sugar. I also subbed whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour. The dough was sticky and thick and didn't press into the pan very well and trying to carefully put it on top of the jelly was even worse and it came out all lumpy. It tasted ok especially for a healthy treat but don't plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wed4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good and easy to make. No one in my family likes raspberries, so I substituted a low sugar strawberry preserves that I had on hand. Very tasty. I also added peanuts to the top layer--it tasted like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJRsMomma
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These are delicious! Seriously, these little bars are addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wow, so easy to make and so good to eat! These were wonderful. I used an 11 x 8 pan to get my bars a bit thicker and used the same cooking time. They were done in 22 minutes. The hard part is waiting for them to cool down to eat. Next time I will not add the salt but other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are fantastic. So easy to make, they look pretty, and everyone always loves these. I've used different flavors of jam (lemon, blueberry, raspberry champagne, peach) and they always turn out delicious, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States