Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
We love this recipe! Quick and easy- my grand-kids love to make these bars. we have tried all flavors of jams/preserves and all are great but the filling we all seem to like best is peanut-butter! i have just spread it straight from the jar and also have mixed it with a little powdered sugar before spreading, either way, we love it! these bars are now expected whenever we take a long distance road trip-great with coffee/tea and milk! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Heitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used all kinds of jam! Just be sure to avoid spreading the jam too close to the edge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exa tly but felt something was missing. I ended up needing 1.5 times recipe for dough because there wasn't enough to cover the bottom of the pan. It turned out crumbly and just not right, although what I did get out of the pan tasted ok. So I remade it using the exact recipe, an 8 x8 pan and adding an egg. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These were delicious! The only thing I added was 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the crumble mixture. I advise cutting these into small-ish-sized cookies, because they're a little heavy in a larger size. However, these were my favorite holiday cookies that I made this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These bars are awesome! I changed the recipe just a bit by still using 3/4th cup of butter (here's a tip- I had run out of unsalted butter so I had to use salted...if you're ever in that situation, leave out the salt in this recipe) but added about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and a little less than a cup(packed) of dark brown sugar. I also added vanilla to the wet ingredients making sure to mix them on high for about 5 minutes to get a great whipped consistently. I used 1 3/4 cups of oats and the original 1 1/2 c of flour. Since oats are high in protein and heart healthy, I'm a HUGE fan of them. The batter was sticky, but that's to be expected. I used the 9 x 13 pan, placed half the dough in the bottom and kept working it out to the edges. I really needed about 3/4the of the dough to cover the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. I really think this recipe needs to be in a smaller pan or a double batch. Since I needed to make another batch to finish covering the top I tried putting some in a jumbo muffin tins and filled each with different fillings; craisins infused with pomegranate, chocolate chips with walnuts, and white chocolate chips and coconut...they baked much faster (check on them 10 mins into baking). One other tip, if you want to make 2 different kinds of bars, just spread your preserves to the halfway point in your pan and if the color is similar put a toothpick in it to differentiate what side is what flavor. Once cool, cut the bars and seperate them by flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl51582

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I can only speak to the crumble part since I made my own apricot filling (1 can drained apricots mashed and cooked with 1/4 c. apricot preserves and 1 T. sugar). I liked this recipe a lot. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, substituted 1/2 c. whole wheat flour for 1/2 c. of the all purpose flour and omitted the salt. I baked them in a glass pan for 30 minutes at 375. The cookies were delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Yummy!! Easy, delicious and got a 'thumbs up' from everyone who ate it. My son's friend can't wait until I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was really easy to make and it leaves room for a lot of experimenting. I made a batch with a Nutella and Almond Butter center, but they hardened a lot faster than the jam-filled ones. I used Raspberry jam for the last few, and it is a real winner - I might try Blueberry next. I also took the advice of one reviewer and cut the butter by 1/4 and substituted apple sauce for it - it make the bars a little bit softer and chewier and definitely made the creaming process a lot easier! I did find that I had to leave the bars overnight before I could cut them because they fell apart. I also put in some sliced almonds into the batter, and added crushed pecans and shredded coconut to the topping. It was delicious!! I urge you all to try adding what you love best to these simple bars to make them your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is a perfect and simple bar type dessert - especially with the younger crowd. Please, please DO NOT RATE a recipe if you totally changed it. Follow it the first try and if you do not like it then play around.......enough said. This site is famous for this type of review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This really is super quick- and delicious. Used blueberry preserves and a little orange zest, and margarine instead of butter. Lined the pan with foil and sprayed with canola oil, but the foil probably wasn't even necessary. Baked for 16 minutes and they were perfect. Warm from the oven, they'd be great with ice cream. Can't wait to try this recipe with other types of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States