Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Yummy! I added about a cup of peanut butter to the butter and brown sugar mixture and made "pb&j bars." Even better with almond butter. Can't stop eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteChocolate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these bars for a camping trip except I used apricot preserves instead of raspberry preserves. They were a huge hit!! They got eaten for breakfast and for dessert! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
VERY yummy! The only problem I had was that it was a bit crumbly and falling apart, but the taste makes up for that. I used sugar-free strawberry preserves, and it was very tasty. I followed other reviewers and baked at 375 and kept the filling about 1/2 inch from the edges. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These needed more flour and oats, they were too wet. I made them for our camping trip and everyone loved them! They even made it a point to come over and tell me so. Really good breakfast bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
THIS was EXACTLY what I was looking for. It was so simple and I had all the ingredients on hand. I spread my jam to about 1/2" from the edges so I didn't burn the jam. I also used strawberry preserves and it was SO GOOD! If only I had some ice cream put on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made these yesterday and they were deemed a 'keeper' by the family immediately. I followed the recipe as written except that I used a raspbery, blueberry, blackberry perserve combination instead or straight raspberry. There is plenty of oatmeal/flour mixture to cover both the top and bottom of the bars, so no worries. I would recommend stirring up your preserves in a small bowl before adding them to the crust; this will allow for easier spreading. Also, do not spread the preserves all the way to the edge, but rather leave a little space so there is no burning. I would also reccomend keeping an eye on them during baking time; mine were done at about 18 minutes...25 minutes would've been too long in my oven. A yummy recipe we all enjoyed....thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Straightforward recipe, came out pretty well. I found it a bit on the rich side but yummy and ate a bunch nevertheless. One of my kids liked them, one didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I double the crust useinghalf wheat flour and half white flour(they hold together better).For the brown sugar i used Splenda Brown Sugar.Instead of Raspberry perserves i have use Homeade Blueberry,Strawberry,Strawberry Rhubarb,Apple and Whole Cranberry Sauce w/orange zest and a bit of splenda and corn starch mixed in. Jam's.Depending on what the kids want that day :)I use one recipe of crust on the bottom and top with half of the other crust.I spread(you want to stir or heat your jam just a wee bit for easier spreading)the Jam's(add a bit more jam otherwise it is more crust than filling) so they are NOT touching the outer edges by the pan to prevent burning!Then after i let them cool(about 15 minutes).I microwave(Creamy)Peanut Butter and drizzle on top.Sprinkle with Peanuts and let them cool totally before cutting.My kids love these for an after school snack or a quick on the go breakfast with fruit smoothie!Even with more crust i only bake them about 15-18 minutes.At our house these are now known as "Mom's Peanut butter and jelly bars"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
These were so good. I used whole wheat flour because that is all I had and added a handful of chopped walnuts to the brumble topping. Served them warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Delicious. They need to cool completely before they are cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States