Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
THIS was EXACTLY what I was looking for. It was so simple and I had all the ingredients on hand. I spread my jam to about 1/2" from the edges so I didn't burn the jam. I also used strawberry preserves and it was SO GOOD! If only I had some ice cream put on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made these yesterday and they were deemed a 'keeper' by the family immediately. I followed the recipe as written except that I used a raspbery, blueberry, blackberry perserve combination instead or straight raspberry. There is plenty of oatmeal/flour mixture to cover both the top and bottom of the bars, so no worries. I would recommend stirring up your preserves in a small bowl before adding them to the crust; this will allow for easier spreading. Also, do not spread the preserves all the way to the edge, but rather leave a little space so there is no burning. I would also reccomend keeping an eye on them during baking time; mine were done at about 18 minutes...25 minutes would've been too long in my oven. A yummy recipe we all enjoyed....thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Straightforward recipe, came out pretty well. I found it a bit on the rich side but yummy and ate a bunch nevertheless. One of my kids liked them, one didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I double the crust useinghalf wheat flour and half white flour(they hold together better).For the brown sugar i used Splenda Brown Sugar.Instead of Raspberry perserves i have use Homeade Blueberry,Strawberry,Strawberry Rhubarb,Apple and Whole Cranberry Sauce w/orange zest and a bit of splenda and corn starch mixed in. Jam's.Depending on what the kids want that day :)I use one recipe of crust on the bottom and top with half of the other crust.I spread(you want to stir or heat your jam just a wee bit for easier spreading)the Jam's(add a bit more jam otherwise it is more crust than filling) so they are NOT touching the outer edges by the pan to prevent burning!Then after i let them cool(about 15 minutes).I microwave(Creamy)Peanut Butter and drizzle on top.Sprinkle with Peanuts and let them cool totally before cutting.My kids love these for an after school snack or a quick on the go breakfast with fruit smoothie!Even with more crust i only bake them about 15-18 minutes.At our house these are now known as "Mom's Peanut butter and jelly bars"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
These were so good. I used whole wheat flour because that is all I had and added a handful of chopped walnuts to the brumble topping. Served them warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Delicious. They need to cool completely before they are cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
These are absolute BEST!!! I bake mine slightly less than the recommended time - about 15-17 minutes. They turn out so incredibly moist! I have gotten so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
LOVE these... and so do my 22-month-old twins. Will have to try carrots like the other reviewer mentioned. One note, I did microwave my preserves for a few seconds so that they would spread easier (they had been refrigerated) but otherwise everything worked beautifully. I will definitely be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Delicious! My son is also allergic to peanuts and milk and it is a real joy to find a great snack/treat like this. They are really similar to nutri-grain bars and so easy to make. I found it was easier to get a bar-like dessert by spreading the second half of the oat mixture out on wax paper and then laying it on top of the preserves rather than sprinkling it on. Thanks a lot for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBUDD2
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Oh My Goodness these were Mmmmm mmmm good! Replaced 2/3 of the white flour with whole wheat flour, some ground flax seed & some some wheat germ. (But kept all the butter required, of course). Used my homemade cranberry preserves that was from the cranberry juice I made a couple of weeks ago. Added a little vanilla and lemon zest in the crust mixture. Also changed the serving size from 24 to 36. This was just perfect for a lasagna size pan. Plenty of crust. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes. Family & neighbors sucked them up! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States