Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Oh My GOSH! I made this (with a few changes, see below) a few days ago, and my boyfriend is obsessed, then I gave some to some friends, and they were pretty much freaking out over how great they were! I can't stop eating them either! I take them as snacks to work, or have them with tea for breakfast. MMMMM!!!!! I am going to be making these forever! CHANGES I MADE(to the 32 serving mix): I added a tablespoon of CINNAMON, and 1 and a half teaspoon of NUTMEG to the OAT MIXTURE. ALSO I did 1.5 times the amount of preserves, so it was 1 jar (10oz) of BLACKBERRY PRESERVES, and half of a 10 oz RASPBERRY PRESERVES jar. Next time I think I will add in some real blackberries, blueberries, and/or raspberries. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE WONDERFUL RECIPE! oh yeah and I just "greased" the pan with PAM "for baking" and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devpav1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I was looking for a healthy snack bar - this was great. I melted Smart Balance instead of using butter and it worked perfectly. I'll be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This has become a staple in our house. We like to add the thinly sliced or slivered almonds to the half you put on top. I prefer the consistancy when you press the top half down into the preserves, and they take about 5 minutes less in our oven. Thank you SO much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
One of my favorite sweet snacks! Very easy to sub in whatever jam/fruit you are in the mood for. My personal favorite is a rhubarb/strawberry compote! Also try adding in pecans and coconut to the topping - they toast up quite nicely and add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I did make quiet a few changes though based on my taste and what I had on hand. First I used sugar free blueberry preserves instead of raspberry b/c that is what I had. Second I double the crust recipe just because I tend to like a more crust to filling ratio. I cut out all butter and substituted canola oil and applesauce instead and I used all whole wheat flour. These bars are a much better breakfast alternative to pop tarts in taste and nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
WICKED EASY to make and super tasty - they are a bit on the sweet side. I also took other people's advice and didn't spread the preserved to the edge and cooked it for less time. It seems soft when you take it out, but it hardens pretty quickly - but not too hard to chew. I also didn't use 10oz of preserves, I just spread it til I thought it was an even coating of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was very good. I made it with organge marmalade instead of raspberry preserves. We will enjoy these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Yummy! I added about a cup of peanut butter to the butter and brown sugar mixture and made "pb&j bars." Even better with almond butter. Can't stop eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteChocolate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these bars for a camping trip except I used apricot preserves instead of raspberry preserves. They were a huge hit!! They got eaten for breakfast and for dessert! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
VERY yummy! The only problem I had was that it was a bit crumbly and falling apart, but the taste makes up for that. I used sugar-free strawberry preserves, and it was very tasty. I followed other reviewers and baked at 375 and kept the filling about 1/2 inch from the edges. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States