Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
These were delicious and exactly what I was looking for - just the right balance of crunch and tenderness. I used 8 oz apricot jam (warmed in the microwave for easier spreadability), and I already have ideas for other preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I was looking for a recipe for some sort of homemade breakfast option to substitute packaged granola bars, poptarts, etc... These were not a good match. They were okay but VERY VERY sweet and rich. Definitely a dessert. And a very sweet/rich dessert at that. I will probably use the crumble part of the recipe again as a pie topping but not to make the bars again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Perfect and delicious simply following the recipe. I use strawberry preserves and these are a huge hit EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Perfection! BUT not enough crumbs for base and top. Double crumb recipe for 9x13 or leave it be and do a 9" square. Top Rack, 375 for 30 mins. That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made these exactly as written and they are yummy! Next time I will cut the salt in half (I used salted butter) and use 3/4 cup brown sugar as they were extra sweet and salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by royalchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keysha Recai
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times and always it was too sweet because of the preserves so I improved on it, I caramelized some pears and put in some fresh blackberries and it was amazing, also with the preserves I put some granny Smith apples to counter the sweetness of the preserves and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keysha Recai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Just made these bars. Very tasty! I added a little milk to help hold all the oats mixture together. And I only baked for 18 minutes. Probably could use any flavor jam. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Made these with GLUTEN FREE flour and certified gluten free oats. They are outstanding! I added a 1/4 tsp. xantham gum to the flour/oat mix because my gluten free flour mix didn't already have it. These are fool proof though! Thanks for the incredibly delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My mom had made these bars for more than 40 years. A few important things that will help soooo much. First temp is too high, 350 is fine we always used a glass pan. Second she used a little more than half of oat mixture, pressed in the pan and baked for 7 minutes before spreading jam. Third keep jam away from edges when spreading on cooled crust. Last, we kind of dropped small clumps of remaining oat mixture over jam and lightly pressing down. The jam was never completely covered, maybe 80 percent. It made bars look prettier with color coming thru. When Mom was making these for church or a cookout, she trimmed edges all around and served 1 inch by 2 inch bars. Guess who got the edges on those times???? Now I do the same thing. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDIUMRARE1826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wspindler
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added 1/4 cup of peanut butter to the dough. Then for the topping I added about 1/4 cup of chopped pecans prior to sprinkling it over the jam. When I took it out of the oven I used the back of the spatula and gave the topping a gentle press down into the hot jam filling before leaving it to cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. I tried it with seedless raspberry jam, going to try peach or apricot next time. For sure a new family and office favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States