Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were FANTASTIC. So goooood! I followed other's advice by adding a few splashes of milk to the bottom layer of mix to hold it together and I also substituted lemon juice for the water. Super easy! You should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Fantastic! Easy, quick and very tasty! I think this is more of a dessert than a breakfast food though. I will serve warm with ice cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I baked this in an 8 inch square pan (9 by 13 would be very thin bars) Baked @ 350 for 25 minutes. I built up the crust along the edges to prevent the jam from burning around the sides. The only change I would make next time is using 3/4 tsp salt instead of 1 tsp. It was a little too salty, but DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
A classic recipe. I used strawberry jam and homemade chunky apple sauce for the filling. Didn't last the day!! I do agree with the other reviews that the crumb was slightly dry. I just added a bit more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were only OK. Nothing special. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was looking for an oatmeal cookie with a jammy filling so I varied from the original just a bit: I threw in two eggs after creaming the butter/sugar and some vanilla. After blending the dry, I got a nice cookie batter. I spread 3/4 of the batter in an 8X8 square pan, which I greased and lined with parchment, then spread my jam (cherry, raspberry, blackberry) then dropped the remaining batter overtop in spoonfuls. I spread the dollops the best I could, and popped it in the oven @ 350 for 22 mins. Absolutely DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieBerrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great flavor, I've made them with raspberry and strawberry jams - both work well. The first time I made them, the dough seemed too dry so I added one egg white. The bars still came out a tiny bit crumbly (which is great if you're serving them at home, not so much if you're packing them for lunch or snacks to go), so the next time I added two egg whites, and that made them perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very tasty. Left the jam in the middle, about 1/2" from the edge. I probably would have added a little more moisture to the batter -- it was quite dry. The topping wasn't 'crumbly' as I would have liked. Other than that, very good, something I'd make again with some minor tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Very, very good! I used another reviewer's suggestion and added a layer of white chocolate chips over the jam, and they were delicious! They only took 14 min to cook at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
These were awesome!... I used an 8x8 inch pan because I wanted them thicker and baked about 27 minutes but probably could have taken them out at 25 since they were getting pretty brown. Delicious butter flavor and not at all too salty; I used sea salt. Drizzled some glaze on top which gave it a weird flourescent color that I didn't love but that was my fault!.. I will definately make these again! Oh yeah, I strained the raspberry jam because we don't like seeds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States