Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I've been making these for at least a few years now because my older boy (now a college senior) insists I make them, still! Even over my really good chocolate chip cookies! I only make one change and that is to add a bit of cinnamon to the "crust." One thing that makes this easier is to line the pan with aluminum foil and butter the foil. Then, when they are done, just lift the bars in the foil out of the pan and no chiseling (as one reviewer mentioned). Also spread the jelly to not quite hit the edges, maybe a 1/4" buffer, because the jelly spreads a bit and sticks to the edges of the pan/foil, making it harder to remove the bars. These are absolutely delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I took some other reviewers' suggestions and cut the sugar in half. I also subbed 1/2 cup peanut butter for some of the butter because I was in the mood for something peanut-buttery. Also kept the preserves 1/2 inch from the edge of the pan as suggested. They turned out great. The top was a bit crumbly but still held together nicely. This is a good recipe to play with using different types of preserves and adding nuts, whatever. You can make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Turned out perfect following the recipe. Easy to cut up and come out of the baking pan perfect. I definitely will bake these again, especially for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I didn't change a thing, just cut the recipe in half and used a smaller pan because I didn't have enough raspberry preserves for a 9x13in. panful. Very filling but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made as directed these are delicious. I can't understand why anyone would cut back on the butter though (I actually added a little). Adding a touch of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla is a great idea..think I'll try it next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for my diabetic husband. I used brown sugar splinda one cup butter. It turned out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this at least 5 times in the last couple months. It is FANTASTIC. I eat dairy free so I subbed the butter with canola oil but everything else is by the recipe. I remind myself that this recipe has no eggs in it so when I am baking it, it's more like heating it just enough to melt the brown sugar and getting the edges a light golden brown. Any longer than that and the bars come out crunchy or burned so don't overdo it. My last pan I baked for less than 17 minutes and each bite melts in my mouth. I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The first time I made these bars, I used strawberry jam. I have tried it since with different jams. (Smucker's makes a big variety of spreadable fruits that are perfect for these bars.) Any that I have made have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Yum! I made the recipe using the instant oatmeal packets (4 of them) because I had ran out of the other. It worked just fine and was yummy. I took a stick of butter and rubbed it all over the glass pan and I had no problem with sticking. I also only baked it for about 15 minutes, maybe a little more. It was sweet, but pairs well with coffee or cold milk. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
While I consider this definitely more of a dessert than a snack bar because of its sweetness, it was still very very good, and I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States