Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Oh YUM! Per another reviewer I cut back the sugar by half and replaced a quarter of the butter with applesauce. Not only is this a great dessert but it also goes wonderfully with morning coffee. Thank you so much Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Another Corwynne Darkholme recipe that quickly became a favorite. Love the sweet & salty. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love how easy these are to throw together! We've used a variety of home-canned goodies like: Apple Butter, Pear Butter, Raspberry Jam, Peach Jam, etc. They have all turned out delicious! We get compliments wherever we take them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were good! I used blackberry preserves instead of raspberry. Next time I'm going to use more than one jar, as there isn't quite enough of it for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
First made this recipe back in 2007 - these are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I read the advice of others before baking and decided to make only a few changes on my first try. I used a half a teaspoon of salt which next time I will just exclude all together since I use salted butter. I added a splash of milk to the portion of the mixture used on the bottom so that it would cut nicely. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to mixture. I used a fork to ease flattening the bottom portion into the pan. Even though the bottom seemed thin to me at first, it did thicken upon baking. The jam to batter ratio is perfect. This recipe is delicious and everybody's advice on how to improve this already great recipe was a huge help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessam888

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The reviewer from Texas that gave this a one star was not basing her opinion on the recipe the way it was written. You put applesauce and whole wheat flour into a dessert recipe, it's going to change how it tastes, and you really shouldn't be one-starring recipes here if you didn't follow directions. With that said, I followed the recipe as directed (go figure!) and ended up with deliciously crunchy sweet berry bars that were un-put-down-able. The vote was unanimous - this recipe's a winner, and it's been requested for Thanksgiving. And again, people, please don't rate recipes poorly if you took artistic license with them, just don't say anything and chalk it up to a bad idea, ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
A Good Treat, but way too sweet for my taste. Had to have a cup of milk to help wash it down. I will try to make again and cut the sugar in 1/2, and try substituting applesauce for some of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
YUMMY!! And super easy - great crowd pleaser! I used a fork to press mixture into bottom of the pan.. much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was great though I made a few changes.....whole wheat flour, no butter- raspberry low fat yogurt, and I cooked raspberries n strawberries with brown sugar, tblsp of margarine n cinnamon. Very yummy! Thanks gave me something good 2 do with my raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newfoodie-Rell
Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States