Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this at least 5 times in the last couple months. It is FANTASTIC. I eat dairy free so I subbed the butter with canola oil but everything else is by the recipe. I remind myself that this recipe has no eggs in it so when I am baking it, it's more like heating it just enough to melt the brown sugar and getting the edges a light golden brown. Any longer than that and the bars come out crunchy or burned so don't overdo it. My last pan I baked for less than 17 minutes and each bite melts in my mouth. I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The first time I made these bars, I used strawberry jam. I have tried it since with different jams. (Smucker's makes a big variety of spreadable fruits that are perfect for these bars.) Any that I have made have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Yum! I made the recipe using the instant oatmeal packets (4 of them) because I had ran out of the other. It worked just fine and was yummy. I took a stick of butter and rubbed it all over the glass pan and I had no problem with sticking. I also only baked it for about 15 minutes, maybe a little more. It was sweet, but pairs well with coffee or cold milk. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
While I consider this definitely more of a dessert than a snack bar because of its sweetness, it was still very very good, and I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
We love this recipe! Quick and easy- my grand-kids love to make these bars. we have tried all flavors of jams/preserves and all are great but the filling we all seem to like best is peanut-butter! i have just spread it straight from the jar and also have mixed it with a little powdered sugar before spreading, either way, we love it! these bars are now expected whenever we take a long distance road trip-great with coffee/tea and milk! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Heitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used all kinds of jam! Just be sure to avoid spreading the jam too close to the edge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exa tly but felt something was missing. I ended up needing 1.5 times recipe for dough because there wasn't enough to cover the bottom of the pan. It turned out crumbly and just not right, although what I did get out of the pan tasted ok. So I remade it using the exact recipe, an 8 x8 pan and adding an egg. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sorbello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These were delicious! The only thing I added was 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the crumble mixture. I advise cutting these into small-ish-sized cookies, because they're a little heavy in a larger size. However, these were my favorite holiday cookies that I made this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These bars are awesome! I changed the recipe just a bit by still using 3/4th cup of butter (here's a tip- I had run out of unsalted butter so I had to use salted...if you're ever in that situation, leave out the salt in this recipe) but added about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and a little less than a cup(packed) of dark brown sugar. I also added vanilla to the wet ingredients making sure to mix them on high for about 5 minutes to get a great whipped consistently. I used 1 3/4 cups of oats and the original 1 1/2 c of flour. Since oats are high in protein and heart healthy, I'm a HUGE fan of them. The batter was sticky, but that's to be expected. I used the 9 x 13 pan, placed half the dough in the bottom and kept working it out to the edges. I really needed about 3/4the of the dough to cover the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. I really think this recipe needs to be in a smaller pan or a double batch. Since I needed to make another batch to finish covering the top I tried putting some in a jumbo muffin tins and filled each with different fillings; craisins infused with pomegranate, chocolate chips with walnuts, and white chocolate chips and coconut...they baked much faster (check on them 10 mins into baking). One other tip, if you want to make 2 different kinds of bars, just spread your preserves to the halfway point in your pan and if the color is similar put a toothpick in it to differentiate what side is what flavor. Once cool, cut the bars and seperate them by flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl51582

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I can only speak to the crumble part since I made my own apricot filling (1 can drained apricots mashed and cooked with 1/4 c. apricot preserves and 1 T. sugar). I liked this recipe a lot. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, substituted 1/2 c. whole wheat flour for 1/2 c. of the all purpose flour and omitted the salt. I baked them in a glass pan for 30 minutes at 375. The cookies were delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States