Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
A dear friend used to make a similar recipe. I toast the walnuts and cool then, then finely grind them, adding 2 T of the sugar to them toward the end so they don't become oily. I separately finely ground 1/2 cup sugar - if you add more than that to the egg whites they collapse. Also add 1/2 tsp cream of tartar to the egg whites to prevent the cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is a pretty simple recipe and makes a delicious dessert! The crust was a tad too thick for my liking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! I was bored one day and found this and made it. I left out the walnuts because i didnt have any but i doubt it needed them. My family went crazy over it and said it was one of the best desserts I've made yet (I make a lot of desserts). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was delicious! All my cookies tend to turn out hard, but the jam kept the dough from stiffening too much. I replaced raspberry jam with currant jam and didn't add the walnuts. I then made a batch with blueberry jam which was delicious. Great for leftover jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really delicious. Everyone raved about them and asked to take some home. I had to change the recipe a little to use what I had on hand, so I ended up using apricot preserves, and chopped pecans instead of chopped walnuts. I plan on using the original recipe next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
LOVE these bars! I scatter semisweet chocolate chips over the jam and let them melt, then put on the meringue. Yum. Chocolate and raspberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNUSF
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I brought these bars to a barbecue and they got rave reviews! I was a little worried when I made them because people were talking about how messy they were--I just lined the pan with foil and pulled them out to cut them and it was no big deal. I followed the other reviewers' advice and sprinkled the nuts on the raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very nice levels of flavors with the buttery crust, sweet n sticky jam fillings, topped with a light and airy sweet crisp! I just wouldn't consider it "elegant" looking because they are difficult to cut without breaking and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These are incredible and fairly easy to make. I followed the suggestions to put the nuts directly onto the jam and that worked well. My tip: make sure to use LARGER than a one quart bowl for mixing the meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
this turned into a sticky, crumbly mess. It was however, a tasty mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States