Raspberry Linzer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I had made this cookies for holidays , special family gatherings and to my kids teachers! they are a hit! it is true about the extra work but it is worth it. I also had use others preserves as well accordingly to the likes for whom i am making them! and for my kids i bake them without almonds because of food allergies still they are great! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilsia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Amazing! Time consuming but well worth it. Was a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
taste is good but I mixed the egg whites in the batter and just put one egg at a time slowly while mixing. I also used blended chopped pecan and threw them in the batter last minute. It tasted great and just did the powered sugar on top. I used less sugar too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by someflymom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great! I followed the advice to use parchment paper, it didn't stick at all. After cutting the cookies out, it was hard to transfer to the pan... especially the top portion of the cookie. (since there was a hole in it) When I was making the top portions of the cookies- what made it a little easier for me was cutting the the round cookie first- transporting them to the Cookie sheet and then use a smaller cookie cutter for the inside. I just used a small knife to scoop out the inside dough after. Perfect shape on the cookie sheet! I'm definitely making these again. It's time consuming but well worth it! Delicious! My husband can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I've been making these for years, except I don't do the egg white or the nuts. They really do take some time to make and the dough can be very soft and sticky, so refrigerating before rolling out is a must. I also sprinkle confectioners sugar over the finished cookies and they are beautiful to look at. I bake them every Christmas and often have to make two or three batches, because everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TABATHANICHOLS
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This cookie is very delicious. But, when I put the egg white on the cookie with the almonds and baked it, the cookie lost it's shape. I tried it without the egg white and almonds, and it kept it's shape just fine. The cookies are very delicate and out of 16 very large cookies that were made, only 8 came through with no cracking. I would make this recipe again, but I would omit the second layer and put the wash ontop when it is just about done and pop it back in the oven for the remainder of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABATHANICHOLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally Jeanne
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made these cookies for favors for my wedding. They were a bit of work but they were well worth it!! I made the pastry portions first over a couple of days and froze them. I then put the jam inside and froze them as a sandwich. The end result was a cookie that tasted fresh baked but was not gooey because the jam had set nicely into the cookie. Excellent results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great recipe. Tip for getting your cookies onto the sheet. Use a cake decorating spreader and slide under the cookies to gently lift the cookies after you roll and cut them. I used homemade Nanking Cherry Jam and they turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
What a delicious, beautiful little cookie. I did not brush the egg white and ground almond mixture onto the cookies, just sprinkled the cookies with confectioner's sugar when cooled. I also used strawberry preserves rather than raspberry - I'm sure raspberry would be just as delicious! I may attempt to use the cookie itself to function as a sugar cookie because it is wonderfully, but mildly, sweet, does not spread - just not sure if it will hold up to icing, but we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These cookies looked so beautiful and interesting that I had to try making them. They turned out just as I'd imagined: delicate, tasty and unique. However, despite the good results, I can't see myself making them on a regular basis. The dough was difficult to deal with and the process was a bit tedious... not to mention the fact that you prepare and bake twice as many cookies as you get to eat! Nevertheless, I give this recipe five stars. Everyone who tasted these cookies was impressed and delighted. The only slight change I made was using a bottle cap to cut out the middles... I didn't have a doughnut cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States