Raspberry-Lemon Pie In a Toasted Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This has a lot of potential. The flavor is amazing but only 1 cup of sugar is plenty. I used 3 TBSP of corn starch and it still did not set up. The custard would make an amazing parfait layered with toasted coconut, raspberries and topped with coconut flavored whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
The toasted coconut crust came out just fine for me. Like other reviewers, my filling didn't set up as much as I would have liked. It was a bit runny. The main complaint I had was that it was "hurt your teeth" sweet. I would definitely cut the sugar to only 1 cup, if not in half to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made this tonight and my husband just loved it. I followed the instructions except I only used 1/2 the butter for the crust and 1/2 the butter for the filling, and only 1 cup of sugar instead of 1.5 cups. It came out just fine. I used a small glass pie pan and was able to cut and serve it without it falling apart. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This sounds really good..only problem, you need to add cornstarch to thicken this up, otherwise it will be runny. 3-4 tblspoons should be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this pie for Passover, we enjoyed it. I will make it again with the following changes. I used a 11 inch round disposable pan, I put the coconut only on the bottom not up the sides- I would also only use 1+1/3c of coconut as it was overpowering the taste of the lemon and I would double the lemon filling amount. I didn't have a zester for passover so I left it out. Serve COLD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe was very flavoful and simple. I will definitely prepare this again. Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe, my husband and kids absolutely loved it! Because of recipes like yours, they truly believe that I'm a great cook--Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made and served this for the first night of passover. I doubled the recipe and used blueberries and raspberries which were beautiful and tasty. I had no issues with the crust standing up on the sides -I just molded it to the side of the pans. However I must have done something not quite right because my custard did not set up - it was a bit thin in consistency, howver it could have been my error as I have not made custard from scratch before. No one minded though - they all loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Unfortunately, this just didn't work for me at all. I wondered about the coconut/butter crust when I read the recipe but it is Kitchen Approved and submitted by a pastry chef, so I figured it must work. It doesn't. There is no structure to the crust at all and it can not support itself or the tiny amount of filling. It just flops over. The filling is refered to as a custard in the recipe instructions. It is more like a very thick, sticky curd. Again, no structure and a strange consistency. When I attempted to spoon it into the "crust" after chilling, the entire bowl of curd lifted out with the first spoonful. It is impossible to cut because it sticks to itself. I thought the taste was good, but I did not get positive feed back from one person that I served it to. Coconut, raspberries and lemon are some of our favorite flavors but I'm not sure if I will attempt to adjust this and try again or not at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Uh-Oh.....made this last night....will re-review and update. Right now the coconut crust is ready and waiting in the 9" pie plate - which looks WAY WAY too big for the amount of filling this recipe yielded. 3 Stars for the portions being Way Off! Will likely redo the crust into a flat, large tart pan. The color on the filling is beautiful and it did set up nice! Need this for early Passover dinner tonight! Yikes! UPDATE - everyone who likes lemon said they liked it - but it is more of a curd than a custard. Now that I see the picture posted - mine looked the same. Like a runny Lemon Meringue pie. For Passover - no flour - desserts are tough. I cringed watching people take heaping spoonfuls and fwack it onto their plate to get it off the spoon. Won't make this again. 3 Stars because it tasted good! 1 Star for portion sizes (filling vs. crust) being way off. 2 Stars for presentation! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States