Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This muffin is so delicious! I actually used strawberries instead of raspberries, and I used 3 tbsp lemon juice plus an extra splash. I also had to pour in some milk (ran out of yogurt) since my mixture was too dry. Overall, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made these with very finely chopped fresh strawberries and they were delicious! I think these are our new favorite muffins in our household. I did use half whole-wheat and half regular all-purpose flour to make them a touch healthier. I also followed some others' suggestion and used 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice. It provided just enough zip. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These are tasty! However, I had to add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of milk. The batter was like dough. Other than that they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syaskiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used this recipe to make healthy muffins for my school's snack program. Note: I did make some alterations to the recipe to make them evern healthier. First, I subbed in half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Second, I used half Splenda and half white sugar. Based on other reviewers suggestions, I added more lemon juice (doubled) and included the regular amount of lemon extract. Because I have students with egg allergies, I used an egg substitute product. I used a very thick 0% fat Greek Yogurt, and I assume this is why my batter was very thick (including the fact that I used 1/2 whole wheat flour). I added a 1/2 cup of skim milk per batch of muffins to thin the batter a bit. I am always a little hesitant to bake at 400 degrees, so I baked at 375 degrees in a convection oven. The muffins on the top rack baked quicker than those on the bottom, but the cooking time is just about right on at 375. I did move the muffins around from bottom rack to top rack when the muffins on the top were done quicker. These muffins were really tasty and healthy, hence the 5-star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made this recipe but baked it in my little 6-cup bundt pan. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, and one whole egg instead of the egg whites, and I did add the lemon extract. Since I was using a bundt pan, I didn’t use the optional sugar for sprinkling. This was very good, not all that sweet. I did make Vanilla Glaze from this site and drizzled it over my cooled cake. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I REALLY wanted these to work since they sound wonderful... but they didn't :( I took the suggestions and used more lemon juice (and used the extract too). I used flavored yogurt too. The taste was only so-so. My biggest problem by FAR was the thickness of the dough in comparison to the largeness of the berries. I had such a difficult time with spooning it in. Then the juice started seeping out from the berries, the batter could bake up but the bottoms burned. Too bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I love this recipe. The yogurt is a nice alternative to milk, which I appreciate since my house goes through milk so fast I rarely have it when I need it. I've been playing with it for the last two days... Of course, I had to make a couple of changes because I can never leave well enough alone. First of all, I like big muffins, not cupcake sized muffins, so I doubled the recipe. Instead of lemon extract, I used the zest and juice of a full lemon, and I added a couple teaspoons of vanilla to just have that soft icecreamy aroma. I also tried whole frozen cranberries instead of raspberries. Don't half them...they cook and burst in the muffins fine on their own. I also topped with milk and sugar coated almond slices. I found that I needed a full 20 minutes instead of 15 because of the larger size and extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great base to use for sure. I love tart and sweet together. Another great substitute is using Blue Raspberries, instead of red... use sugar on top, Garnish with a smidge of grinded lemon drop candy, and a smidge of fresh chopped mint leaves (Not dried!!). Lemon Drops add a little sour tang, and the touch of mint makes it oh so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Got a thumbs up from hubby, and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States