Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made this recipe but baked it in my little 6-cup bundt pan. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, and one whole egg instead of the egg whites, and I did add the lemon extract. Since I was using a bundt pan, I didn’t use the optional sugar for sprinkling. This was very good, not all that sweet. I did make Vanilla Glaze from this site and drizzled it over my cooled cake. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I REALLY wanted these to work since they sound wonderful... but they didn't :( I took the suggestions and used more lemon juice (and used the extract too). I used flavored yogurt too. The taste was only so-so. My biggest problem by FAR was the thickness of the dough in comparison to the largeness of the berries. I had such a difficult time with spooning it in. Then the juice started seeping out from the berries, the batter could bake up but the bottoms burned. Too bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I love this recipe. The yogurt is a nice alternative to milk, which I appreciate since my house goes through milk so fast I rarely have it when I need it. I've been playing with it for the last two days... Of course, I had to make a couple of changes because I can never leave well enough alone. First of all, I like big muffins, not cupcake sized muffins, so I doubled the recipe. Instead of lemon extract, I used the zest and juice of a full lemon, and I added a couple teaspoons of vanilla to just have that soft icecreamy aroma. I also tried whole frozen cranberries instead of raspberries. Don't half them...they cook and burst in the muffins fine on their own. I also topped with milk and sugar coated almond slices. I found that I needed a full 20 minutes instead of 15 because of the larger size and extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great base to use for sure. I love tart and sweet together. Another great substitute is using Blue Raspberries, instead of red... use sugar on top, Garnish with a smidge of grinded lemon drop candy, and a smidge of fresh chopped mint leaves (Not dried!!). Lemon Drops add a little sour tang, and the touch of mint makes it oh so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Got a thumbs up from hubby, and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were spectacular! I highly recommend these. Very delicious! I made 11 instead of 12 though to make a little bit fuller muffins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillMari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent muffins! I used one whole lemon for both the lemon zest and lemon juice called for in the recipe. I did omit the lemon extract. The batter came together nicely -a little fluffy, and I did not overmix, just enough to combine. I filled 16 muffins tins about 2/3 full. I also took the option and sprinkled raw sugar cane on top of the muffins for decoration. The muffins were baked in 16 minutes flat. I like the light yellow color of muffins with red bits of raspberries peeking out as it is very eye appealing. I could see the sugar decorations on the round muffin top as well. And the muffins smelled lemon-y. The paper liner came off the muffins easily. The muffin itself is very moist, light and tasty. I was pleased it was not "too" tart and not "too" sweet - just right. I normally don't like super sweet desserts but in this case, the sugar works well with both the lemon and raspberries because it offsets the tartness with its' sweetness. Next time I may add just a little more lemon juice for that stronger lemony flavor (personal preference). A very light, fruity and refreshing muffin! This recipe leaves room to substitute the fruit for others like blueberries, strawberriee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My first thought when I saw this recipe was how much I like Raspberry Lemonade to drink. So, I made these muffins and now I can say how much I like to eat Raspberry Lemonade! :) I thought these were delicious and very moist! My small changes to the recipe were that I used one egg instead of the two egg whites, I used about an extra half a cup of raspberries, and I put cinnamon in the sugar for the topping! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Kinney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millinocket, Maine, USA
Photo by Chickentarian
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
One word, and I'm going to shout it... AMAZING! I made two batches, one with regular yogurt and one with lemon flavored. I think I like the one with the lemon yogurt better, but there isn't much of a difference. Both batches have a subtle lemon flavor that's hard to detect but I didn't use the zest. I also used fresh raspberries and the little bit of tartness in them is perfect. My batter was a little thick and had me worried but they came out beautifully. Wish I had the ingredients to make at least 2 more batches. These are a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States