Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These turned out very well, I made two batches with some changes after reading the reviews. I used raspberry greek yogurt instead of plain, added one egg yolk, 4 TBSP of fresh lemon juice, an extra 1/2 cup of raspberries and did not use lemon extract. I definitely suggest using the zest if you skipped it and did not like them- it makes a big difference in the taste. These are very good- Taste slightly healthy, but not in a bad way. They are a little bit dense and the muffin is a little chewy if you cook it for too long but the fruit makes up for it. Be very careful to not overmix this or it will turn out very tough and hard- you want some small lumps in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I tripled the lemon juice and used fresh raspberries. I used 2 whole eggs and doubled the recipe. It only made 22 small muffins without much appeal! I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
great recipe! Did it with raspberry yoghurt, (a little more than called for) and one whole egg because I didn't want to bother separating. Came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My raspberries were bad, so I used diced canned peaches. What an experiment! Before I threw in the peaches, I tasted the batter. It seemed PLENTY lemon tasting WITHOUT the zest, but good. After I threw in the peaches, the batter tasted weird. I went ahead and baked it and they turned out alright! Very airy/light and moist. I might drain the peaches better next time. And I might try a different fruit. I think any fruit would probably do fine in this one. I also omitted the sugar on top. It was plenty sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
These were good. I thought they could have been sweeter. I used fresh lemons off of my tree and raspberries we went and picked ourselves. That was fun. My 4 year old did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Just tried these today and my daughter, husband and brother all approve. I did add extra lemon zest, juice and grated in some lemon peel because we like extra lemon flavor. I also added a couple tablespoons of milk because the batter was pretty thick. I could have added more; these are a dense muffin. Not a problrm for us though. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Loved these muffins. I used one egg instead of egg whites and a tablespoon of lemon EXTRACT instead of lemon juice. Also, added a tablespoon of milk as recommended by other reviewers. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious, just wish fresh raspberries weren't so expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Use foil liners - never sticks! Used Chobani lemon greek yogurt, an egg instead of 2 whites, no extract, blueberries instead of raspberries, and a tad of zest -- turns out a not so fresh lemon doesn't zest well. Batter was like cookie dough, but they turned out delicious anyway. I wanted that sugar crunch so next time I'll top 'em. Waaaaaaay better than any box muffins! My kids inhaled these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I gave these muffins a try yesterday. I followed the ingredients of the recipe pretty much as they were with the singular modification of using lemon greek yogurt instead of plain. The result was a very nice flavor. However, the texture is a little tough. But I will say that I did not follow the recipe completely. Without realizing what the recipe said precisely, I added the sugar to the wet ingredients like one would normally. When I combined the wet and dry, the batter locked up completely (I didn't over-stir; it was pretty much screwed from the get-go). My batter turned out like a wet sort of cookie dough even before it was even sort of mixed -- never mind folding in the berries. I do not know if it would have been fixed by more precisely following the instructions (adding sugar to flour, it doesn't make much sense), but there you go. I guess what I'm saying here is that it would be unfair to give this recipe a low rating if I didn't follow it precisely as given. They do taste very good. Just be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States