Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These are tasty! However, I had to add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of milk. The batter was like dough. Other than that they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syaskiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used this recipe to make healthy muffins for my school's snack program. Note: I did make some alterations to the recipe to make them evern healthier. First, I subbed in half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Second, I used half Splenda and half white sugar. Based on other reviewers suggestions, I added more lemon juice (doubled) and included the regular amount of lemon extract. Because I have students with egg allergies, I used an egg substitute product. I used a very thick 0% fat Greek Yogurt, and I assume this is why my batter was very thick (including the fact that I used 1/2 whole wheat flour). I added a 1/2 cup of skim milk per batch of muffins to thin the batter a bit. I am always a little hesitant to bake at 400 degrees, so I baked at 375 degrees in a convection oven. The muffins on the top rack baked quicker than those on the bottom, but the cooking time is just about right on at 375. I did move the muffins around from bottom rack to top rack when the muffins on the top were done quicker. These muffins were really tasty and healthy, hence the 5-star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made this recipe but baked it in my little 6-cup bundt pan. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, and one whole egg instead of the egg whites, and I did add the lemon extract. Since I was using a bundt pan, I didn’t use the optional sugar for sprinkling. This was very good, not all that sweet. I did make Vanilla Glaze from this site and drizzled it over my cooled cake. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I REALLY wanted these to work since they sound wonderful... but they didn't :( I took the suggestions and used more lemon juice (and used the extract too). I used flavored yogurt too. The taste was only so-so. My biggest problem by FAR was the thickness of the dough in comparison to the largeness of the berries. I had such a difficult time with spooning it in. Then the juice started seeping out from the berries, the batter could bake up but the bottoms burned. Too bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I love this recipe. The yogurt is a nice alternative to milk, which I appreciate since my house goes through milk so fast I rarely have it when I need it. I've been playing with it for the last two days... Of course, I had to make a couple of changes because I can never leave well enough alone. First of all, I like big muffins, not cupcake sized muffins, so I doubled the recipe. Instead of lemon extract, I used the zest and juice of a full lemon, and I added a couple teaspoons of vanilla to just have that soft icecreamy aroma. I also tried whole frozen cranberries instead of raspberries. Don't half them...they cook and burst in the muffins fine on their own. I also topped with milk and sugar coated almond slices. I found that I needed a full 20 minutes instead of 15 because of the larger size and extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great base to use for sure. I love tart and sweet together. Another great substitute is using Blue Raspberries, instead of red... use sugar on top, Garnish with a smidge of grinded lemon drop candy, and a smidge of fresh chopped mint leaves (Not dried!!). Lemon Drops add a little sour tang, and the touch of mint makes it oh so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Got a thumbs up from hubby, and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were spectacular! I highly recommend these. Very delicious! I made 11 instead of 12 though to make a little bit fuller muffins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillMari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent muffins! I used one whole lemon for both the lemon zest and lemon juice called for in the recipe. I did omit the lemon extract. The batter came together nicely -a little fluffy, and I did not overmix, just enough to combine. I filled 16 muffins tins about 2/3 full. I also took the option and sprinkled raw sugar cane on top of the muffins for decoration. The muffins were baked in 16 minutes flat. I like the light yellow color of muffins with red bits of raspberries peeking out as it is very eye appealing. I could see the sugar decorations on the round muffin top as well. And the muffins smelled lemon-y. The paper liner came off the muffins easily. The muffin itself is very moist, light and tasty. I was pleased it was not "too" tart and not "too" sweet - just right. I normally don't like super sweet desserts but in this case, the sugar works well with both the lemon and raspberries because it offsets the tartness with its' sweetness. Next time I may add just a little more lemon juice for that stronger lemony flavor (personal preference). A very light, fruity and refreshing muffin! This recipe leaves room to substitute the fruit for others like blueberries, strawberriee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States