Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nowelle
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious taste. The texture of my muffins was somewhat dense and more moist than I would like. Possibly because I added a whole egg instead of two egg whites. The flavor was very good though. I topped with chocolate drizzle because I love raspberries with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nowelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made these muffins with frozen blackberries. Absolutely wonderful. The texture and the flavor are the perfect balance and they are so easy to make. These dont last long, so if you are planning to take some for a quick breakfast during the week, make 2 batches! I just wrap individually in plastic wrap and keep in the fridge to grab for a quick breakfast or snack. Also, I would like to see sugar content displayed with the nutrition facts. Lots of folks are diabetic, and need to see that info. The best I can calculate, these have approximately 12 grams of sugar per muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Clearly I must have done something wrong, because these were terrible. I followed the recipe except I did not have lemon extract. The batter was way, way, WAY too thick. Then after baking, the muffins stuck like glue to the liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The raspberries were too much, even though we love raspberries themselves. We also couldn't taste the lemon, even though we used all the zest and juice from a lemon (which is about twice as much as the recipe called for). On the plus side, they were very moist and had a good texture. I might try this again but with blueberries or a smaller amount of triple berry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made half of them with the cinnamon/flour/butter topping suggested by another reviewer and half of them with no topping at all. Next time I think I'll get some coarse ground sugar to sprinkle on top and that extra bit of sweet crunch will make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A few substitutions: I used greek yogurt 1/2cup oat flour 1/2 cup wheat flour 1/2 cup regular flour 1/2 cup sugar I used mixed berries- just rasp would be better Very thick batter! Came out almost scone like, def more dense than regular muffins but great flavor. I would recommend using the lemon extract as they barely tasted like lemon and I doubled the zest, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These muffins came out very nice albeit not as sweet as my husband usually likes his desserts. I made a few modification that may have contributed to this: I used 0% Fage Greek yogurt as it was all I had on hand. This yogurt is quite thick, less sweet, and has a sour note. The resulting batter was more like cookie dough than muffin mix. However, to rescue the consistency I mashed fresh whole raspberry (my husband prefers the tie-die effect of the mash over the whole fruit) and incorporated it into the mix. This loosened up the batter and added the fresh fruit element. I liked the flavor of the lemon and did add the extract to really bring out the citrus. All-in-all after baking these muffins, I was happy with the results. Next time I'll either add a bit more sugar if repeating with the Greek yogurt or maybe add a lemon icing to the top.. I used turbinado sugar to sprinkle on top of the batter before baking. It was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCOTTINO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Way to thick and didnt come off the paper very well wouldnt make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawny&Dominic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OMG THESE ARE RESTAURANT QUALITY MUFFINS!! I read through a lot of the reviews for the perfect one so here's mine (Only Minor changes!!) I used Greek yogurt, 2 T lemon juice (no lemon extract), 1 tsp vanilla, Fresh raspberries, and white sanding sugar for the top. The dough was very thick so I added 1 T milk. I sprayed the inside of the muffin liners as I think someone said they stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Don't let the "dough" throw you off. These are good muffins and very tasty. The only substitute I did was use a whole egg instead of just egg whites. Instead of muffin batter I ended up with dough that made 12 mini muffins (there is no way this recipe can make 12 regular sized muffins). I baked them at 400 for 17 minutes but because they are so dense they still weren't done so I lowered the temp to 350 and baked for another 10 minutes. Still moist, just very dense. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States