Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were pretty good. They definitely had a different crumb than other muffins I make, which I attribute to the lower fat content. Still, very tasty, but an odd texture. I made mine with frozen blueberries and sprinkled sugar on top before baking. The batter was very dense. I used 3 Tbs. of lemon juice and no extract as per another reviewer's suggestion. I'll likely make these again for market, but probably not for eating myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Delicious! My family loved this! This recipe is one of their favorite desserts (my favorite too!) I have probably made these muffins 6 or 7 times before. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Love these! I've made them several times and they seem to be pretty forgiving it terms of what you use exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwscov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Good muffin, not very sweet so perfect for those who prefer a less sweet tasting muffin. The tart lemon along with the somewhat tart raspberries needs a bit more sweetness. The sweetness will depend on whether you happen to get berries harvested at the perfect time (ripeness) and the variety of the berry. The frozen berries I happen to get must have come from a less sweet harvest. I used lemon yogurt and omitted the lemon extract. The batter was very thick which makes it a bit harder to work with in filling the muffin cups. Also, if eaten straight from oven while still warm (which is how we like them) the muffins stick to paper muffin cups, though once cooled paper cup peels off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Since I can't have dairy I substituted strawberry puree for the yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I'm sorry but these are sooooo thick and dense, I should have known to add something else when I saw the dough. It was like eating a a big ball of dough, bummer I think I'll have to throw them away :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These muffins are so good! I followed some other reviewers' advice and used about 2.5 T of fresh-squeezed lemon juice, instead of 1 T. I didn't have enough raspberries so used half raspberries and half blueberries. Sprinkled the tops with turbinado sugar, which baked into a nice, sweet little crust. My husband, who is not a baked goods fan ate a bunch. These were so flavorful and so good. Will definitely make again, using the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I was hoping for more of a lemon flavor but they are good. I used blueberry yogurt and frozen blueberries. Replaced the oil with applesauce. Next time I will add more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
These are good. Even though they're pretty healthy as is, I used whole wheat flour for part of the ap, and fat free no sugar added yogurt. I upped the lemon juice to 2 tbsp because I didn't have the extract, and just used 1 whole egg, because I'm lazy and it seemed easier. I made a whole pan of mini-muffins and a few regular sized, and the regular sized worked better. For the minis, the raspberries took up a lot of room in the muffin cups and when if one ended up against the side or the bottom, a whole side of the muffin was soggy. The taste was great in both sizes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Had lots of frozen rasberries on hand and yogurt. Used activia low fat rasp. yogurt and a little greek yogurt which I had on hand. Next time I may have to add some sweetener to the raspberries. Other than that I liked the flavor with the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States