Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I love this recipe. The yogurt is a nice alternative to milk, which I appreciate since my house goes through milk so fast I rarely have it when I need it. I've been playing with it for the last two days... Of course, I had to make a couple of changes because I can never leave well enough alone. First of all, I like big muffins, not cupcake sized muffins, so I doubled the recipe. Instead of lemon extract, I used the zest and juice of a full lemon, and I added a couple teaspoons of vanilla to just have that soft icecreamy aroma. I also tried whole frozen cranberries instead of raspberries. Don't half them...they cook and burst in the muffins fine on their own. I also topped with milk and sugar coated almond slices. I found that I needed a full 20 minutes instead of 15 because of the larger size and extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great base to use for sure. I love tart and sweet together. Another great substitute is using Blue Raspberries, instead of red... use sugar on top, Garnish with a smidge of grinded lemon drop candy, and a smidge of fresh chopped mint leaves (Not dried!!). Lemon Drops add a little sour tang, and the touch of mint makes it oh so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Got a thumbs up from hubby, and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were spectacular! I highly recommend these. Very delicious! I made 11 instead of 12 though to make a little bit fuller muffins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillMari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent muffins! I used one whole lemon for both the lemon zest and lemon juice called for in the recipe. I did omit the lemon extract. The batter came together nicely -a little fluffy, and I did not overmix, just enough to combine. I filled 16 muffins tins about 2/3 full. I also took the option and sprinkled raw sugar cane on top of the muffins for decoration. The muffins were baked in 16 minutes flat. I like the light yellow color of muffins with red bits of raspberries peeking out as it is very eye appealing. I could see the sugar decorations on the round muffin top as well. And the muffins smelled lemon-y. The paper liner came off the muffins easily. The muffin itself is very moist, light and tasty. I was pleased it was not "too" tart and not "too" sweet - just right. I normally don't like super sweet desserts but in this case, the sugar works well with both the lemon and raspberries because it offsets the tartness with its' sweetness. Next time I may add just a little more lemon juice for that stronger lemony flavor (personal preference). A very light, fruity and refreshing muffin! This recipe leaves room to substitute the fruit for others like blueberries, strawberriee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My first thought when I saw this recipe was how much I like Raspberry Lemonade to drink. So, I made these muffins and now I can say how much I like to eat Raspberry Lemonade! :) I thought these were delicious and very moist! My small changes to the recipe were that I used one egg instead of the two egg whites, I used about an extra half a cup of raspberries, and I put cinnamon in the sugar for the topping! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Kinney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millinocket, Maine, USA
Photo by Chickentarian
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
One word, and I'm going to shout it... AMAZING! I made two batches, one with regular yogurt and one with lemon flavored. I think I like the one with the lemon yogurt better, but there isn't much of a difference. Both batches have a subtle lemon flavor that's hard to detect but I didn't use the zest. I also used fresh raspberries and the little bit of tartness in them is perfect. My batter was a little thick and had me worried but they came out beautifully. Wish I had the ingredients to make at least 2 more batches. These are a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. I substituted fresh raspberries for frozen (mushing some of them a little first), but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. They disappeared within a day in my house. I will definitely make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These taste better than a recipe I have from William Senoma. I did use a 6 oz cup of lemon flavored yogurt instead of plain and I used one egg instead of 2 egg whites also used 1 full tbsp. Of fresh lemon zest... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States